August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Every Second Counts

by Pebsie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your family has been surviving out in the wild for 10 weeks now, well away from the current zombie invasion happening in civilization.
It wasn't until a few days ago that it occured to you all: supplies are needed. So, your husband / dad and your son / brother set out
to get some supplies from the nearby village of "Turmoil". They returned unscathed, however unbeknownst to them was the zombie horde
that followed. Now the zombies are closing in on you and your family. Who survives? Who is used as bait? Who dies? All of this is up to you.
Whatever happens, in 10 seconds your family is going to be ripped apart... literally.

TIPS:
Make sure that you read the How To section.
Use UP, DOWN and ENTER to navigate the menu.
TAB often!
Not everything will work in the web version!

OSX, Web and Linux ports coming soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#122Theme3.71
#225Innovation3.47
#497Overall3.11
#566Mood2.71
#694Fun2.76
#735Graphics2.59
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

valgriz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Not bad, pretty cool game.

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Wow, nice game! I enjoyed it, but I got two persons dead :(
If you keep working on it, add some power-ups and/or guns and change the controls a little (like, select the members with the mouse) it could be a really fun game.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Pretty nice

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I really liked the concept here, as you can't win, someone has to be sacrificed. Good spin on the theme too, making each second a "turn." Wish you had more time for graphics and audio, but overall well done!

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:02am

nice idea

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:29am

Great idea, very innovative.

nthird says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:01am

Really good concept. I found the controls cumbersome but otherwise enjoyed the concept and execution.

tombsar says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Sorry, but I was put off by the bizarre download website you used. It had an animation pretending to download the 2MB file, and then Firefox popped up a dialog asking for permission to store up to 50MB of offline data. Probably nothing, but highly dodgy nonetheless.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]