August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

THE WHiTE ROOM

by Hazel-Bun - Jam Entry

THE WHiTE ROOM: A visual novel about a lost soul in purgatory, a hammer space riddled with timed events*, and the angel that needs her to move on in order to get his next paycheck.

*Though they are not shown, the room menus add up to ten seconds. Be for warned.

<><><>

My very first Ludum Dare entry-- Jam edition! I packed a lot into this game (heart, soul and sanity) and it didn't all turn out pretty or how I wanted... but at least it's something, yeah?

I apologize as of now for any bugs, wacky sprite placement, typos--typos--typos and general randomness of the plot. I had to cut a lot of it to get it in on time and I don't work well all by my lonesome!

TIPS:
- Most of the menus are timed and it's not displayed. They range from a second long to over eight! Stay alert!
- Save often if you don't want to go through the hassle of skipping over text.
- You don't have to read the beginning really as it's just an emo blurb ^^
- But do try to read the bits before you enter The Room, things are already convoluted and will only get worse if you don't!
- Things go quickly once you get through the text in The Room! If you don't like reading, stay alert and it will all be over soon.
- Have fun! This plot is all over the place but is should wake you up a bit or, at the very least, make you laugh at my botched effort. Whatever makes you smile more :)

Created with the Ren'Py.
Poor logos created with PowerPoint.
BGs from Morguefile and the horrid ones made by me.
Sprites by me with the use of Gimp to color. Poorly.
*SFX from Freesound.
- Horn
-
-
Music from Jamendo:
- Islands-EP by Ivonne Carinni
- "Forever" by Ken Verheecke
- "Fly Together" by Olga Scotland
- "Battle" by Jahzzar
- "Be Calm" and "Allegro Solitario" by Giorgio Campagnano

*Will list the sources later on.

<><><>
Warning!
This game contains an un-canon portrayal of purgatory, general bad pacing and questionable mixture of art assets. And don't forget that code! Talk about ugh-- haha!

<><><>
Glossary:

Cycle or Bi-Cycle: Heavenly standards of time that match pretty closely to Earth's most widely used calender.
Report or Rankings: Reports lay out what a soul has achieved, merits and the like while the ranking system judges how well their angels did.
Levels: The level of purgatory a soul is currently on.
Objectives: Mini-missions souls must carry out with varying rewards and chances to move up a level.
Virtues: The opposite of the seven deadly sins, these must be 'collected' by souls during the Test in order to move on.
The Test: A bi-cycle assessment carried out by guardian angels to judge a souls' progress.
Plane of Existence, etc.: The different 'layers', 'rooms' or 'doorways' of being equivalent to Earth, Heaven, Hell and Limbo. The rooms in Limbo serve as smaller planes that have infinite sub-planes a soul can enter and transform.

<><><>
Statistics:

Version 1.2

The game contains 348 dialogue blocks, containing 6,778 words and 35,705
characters, for an average of 19.5 words and 103 characters per block.

The game contains 7 menus, 19 images, and 12 screens.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1806Coolness17%

Comments

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16pm

There's a crash after you enter the first door - I think a graphic is missing.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I got quite far, and I really enjoyed what I was reading/playing, but alas, there was an uncaught exception! :'( I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

While running game code:
File "game/script.rpy", line 388, in script
IOError: Couldn't find file 'Space 2.jpg'.

Still, amazing for the time spent :O So much content :D

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Where was the theme used?

Hazel-Bun says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Thanks so much for the feedback! I will go in and fix it right away guys! @ Zephyr It's used once you are inside the room. You have ten seconds in total (the menus are times and add up to ten in all) to "win" the game so to speak. *goes off to fix it*

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Why do I have to login in with my Google account to download the game? Can't you just make it public?

porglezomp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Why isn't the file public? I can't play the game unless you give me permission.

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I am logged into google but I still need to request permission to view your game. Perhaps put it in a public folder?

rpmoura says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Google drive permission needed...

Hazel-Bun says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Sorry everyone for the inconvience! I set up the file before school and forgot to make it public! Will fix as soon as possible.

ananasblau says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:18pm

I wonder if anyone already worked out the ideal ration of text vs menus for visual novels, but I think one every 1000 words is a bit one the extreme. High ratings for the graphics, sounds and music, too many forget to add that.

haha "This was just a botched game! What was that whole timed mess for anyway? Beacuse you didn't really put this together properly!?", sorry it fits, kind of :D

Hazel-Bun says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Yes, I do feel like more choices would have been ideal and mentioned my pacing was way off for this one :'D I personally felt that adding anymore in would not have been good though as they'd have been... meaningless! *slapstick* Because almost half of the story was cut from it.

Glad it appealed to you visually and sound wise. Your criticism of the actual "game play" (the menus) per so many words is very valid. Happy you picked up on that little self-jab too lol. It's how I felt when the whole shabang was through and over with. Next time i'll try to do better with incorporating the theme and keeping my wordy-ness low now that I have the basic framework of Ren'Py down pack.

On a side note, the game file should now be public access ^^ As always, if you encounter any bugs or what have you, let me know and i'll get to it as soon as I can!

soulrot says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:25pm

I'm still getting an exception after entering the door. Did you already ahve an updated version available?

Hazel-Bun says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Hm, really? I'll check it out when I go home and re-upload if nessacary.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

been a while since I actually had to sit down and read stuff at jams. interesting stuff.

jrbitt says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:42am

Sorry but it's a lot of text, many many many text and few interaction/decisions

4xisblack says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:19am

I like the idea that purgatory is a sort of badly-gamified and largely inequitable bureaucratic ladder into heaven. It's as if god read half of one book on gamification and thereby judged himself qualified to revolutionize the whole 'afterlife' thing.

Amusingly, the consequences are exactly what we game designers might predict: When you reward all gameplay with superficial 'achievements' and other scorekeeping systems your players lose any intrinsic motivation to explore those systems for their own sake.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:16am

I apologize in advance if English is not your first language. If you are going to make a game that heavy on dialog, please run it through a spell checker and have someone proofread it for you.

It was tolerable at the beginning when it had a poetic feel to it, but when the dialog started, it really started to bother me. I read through for a while, and after the first interaction I decided to try and skip to the gameplay that was referenced in some of the other comments. The skip button didn't seem to work and I got bored of click-spamming before it came up.

I'm hesitant to review a game that I haven't actually "played", but here it feels more like rating a game I'm not good enough to beat. I understand the desire to tell a story, I try to do that with my games as a general rule, but this was a bit heavy handed with the exposition.

Hazel-Bun says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 5:21pm

@Jr and Real Very truthful points. As I've said before, one thing I will improve on in my next attempt I'll add more branching choices. Going solo my first attempt was overwhelming. I'll be sure to get a proofreader next go around, add more choices and do better next go around. Thanks for attempting it and giving your honest feedback. I'll keep it in mind!

@Black Glad you liked and understood the overarching concept of the story!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]