August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10-Second Shadow Block-Dude!

by bhopkins - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HTML5/JS Puzzle/action game! 10 levels of increasing difficulty! My first LD! Let me know what you think :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#188Theme3.59
#352Fun3.18
#435Overall3.17
#612Innovation2.88
#633Humor2.11
#674Audio2.32
#789Mood2.44
#1034Graphics2.06

Comments

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:34am

Fun stuff! Gotta admit though... it's been done before :/

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12am

Such a great game! I LOVE this kind of thing, you executed the theme perfectly, cut the idea down to it's basics, and added small bits until it was very nice. Keep it up.

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

Very cool game once I realised what was going on. cool stuff.

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

I feel like this is a mechanic I've seen (approximately) before, but this version feels pretty good to play and the level design is solid. I also like the trailing blocks getting sicker as a way of limiting the amount trails you are storing. Nicely done.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26am

Cool idea, but a little slow. I feel like the theme hurts the game a bit since you either have to wait for you previous self to do go through there path before you can do the next part of the puzzle, or wait at a switch for the rest of the seconds.

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

Hahaha loved it, these types of games are my favourite. Nice touch on having the "clones" appear dumber with each iteration. I ran into some game breaking bugs though which seemed to the clones recorded actions bug out.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32am

Nice! Gave up on level 10 after twenty or so tries. Maybe my brain tomorrow can handle it.

bhopkins says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

Thanks for the comments everyone!

Yes, I'm sure this isn't a new concept, but it seemed to suit the theme and I had fun implementing it and making the puzzles.

I agree that sometimes waiting on the buttons in the earlier levels can be a drag, if I could edit it I would probably add a button to jump the timer to zero. It's only a few seconds though :)

Level 10 is indeed super-tough, I wanted it to be the ultimate challenge. It still takes me a couple of tries to execute it correctly even though I know what to do :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:28am

Great puzzler! Had fun with it :D

davidwparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Fun little puzzler. It was a little hard, but that's cool.

GagaPete says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

As many others already said: This game is fun to play and the levels are well design. It's most impressive that failing doesn't frustrate at all but is actually fun.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32pm

I really like it! The first level is a bit hard for the beginning, but it's definitely a good concept.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:47pm

I like the idea this game, needed to make sure the previous versions of yourself are doing what you need them to be doing and when. Its pretty smart and a great use of theme. I featured it in my comilation video of Ludum Dare 27 Games, if you wanna check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1UJ96l2scE

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Yeah, very nice! I felt like there should be a "ok, I'm done" key - instead of having to wait for 10 seconds to expire every time. 10 seconds is a realllly long time sometimes ;)

bitowl says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:20am

cool concept, but it needs more variety

manuq says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:06am

Love it.

Great to know that you had fun doing this! Surely it has to be a lot of fun and as a developer it tempts me to try.

tigerj says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:48am

Really creative. nice work. This was a real fun concept please continue to work on it post LD!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]