August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sigma Squadron: Ten Seconds to Love

by Kyle Mac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

41 hours and ~1000 lines of code later, Sigma Squadron is finally complete. The jar should be one size fits all, though I haven't had the chance to try it out on Linux yet. I'd love to hear your thoughts and constructive criticisms about it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1773Coolness20%

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Not bad at all, the scenic planet-scapes in the background are very pretty. A fun arcade shooter no doubt. :)

Note: It runs fine under the Linux JVM, after I renamed the files in the "launch" and "death" sfx directories to lower-case first characters only. The file-system is case sensitive. The error they raise is seen here: http://pastebin.com/PMT07wsF

Zetsaika says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Loved the music and the background. The voice was godlike. hahaha

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47pm

ARCADE SHOOTING IS WHAT MAKES MY HEART BEAT.

SamC says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28pm

great voice acting :D

ezolotko says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Made me remember of my childhood and NES

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Fun little game, very polished. Nice graphics, nice music and nice voice over. Good job!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Very polished, nice tonematrix (or similar) music, and good gameplay as soon as you figure out the thing dropped are indeed clocks you should pick up. The graphics were really nicely done. The drop rate seems a bit random though, and I did not care very much for the voice over, especially when first time I died I did not, in fact, quite understand you were supposed to grab what I thought were enemy bullets :D But solid entry nonetheless!

jwolf says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:22am

Not half-bad shooter with decent graphics. It could use a bit more variety in game mechanics, though, and it seems possible to lose even if you grab all of the drops.

GFM says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:01am

Wonderful background! And that last barrage of enemies after two minutes... >_<

Nice game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]