August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fast Food Gourmet Ninja

by Chaoseiro - Jam Entry

Our first Ludum Dare! Although our weekend wasn't really nice for both, we somehow managed to "finish" the game. It's really simple, and the gameplay is lacking, but it was a really nice experience.

I had a fight with VS2012 and lost... so, in case you have any problem trying to run the game, please try to install VS2012 redistributable: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679 (x86 version).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#303Humor(Jam)2.37
#306Audio(Jam)2.78
#393Fun(Jam)2.67
#403Theme(Jam)2.87
#405Graphics(Jam)2.85
#436Overall(Jam)2.76
#482Mood(Jam)2.32
#534Innovation(Jam)2.29

Comments

Sithdown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46am

Really fun! Slicing things is always fun. Nice drawings, and good audio too.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:14pm

I pressed New Game and it stopped working. (Running on Windows 7 64 bits - Graphics card NVidia GeForce 430)

TeamAlpha says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Really fun game! Just one thing: it seems it stops working when you just click and drag through various objects, instead of slicing once every click. The timer stops and no more objects appear =( But awesome work nonetheless!

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:48pm

I love cocking games Just love it well done

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Was pretty good. Wouldve liked to see a little bit more depth maybe but I like the basic mechanics!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18pm

"The application was unable to start correctly(0x000007b)" Can't launch the game

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26pm

The music just made me slice freneticly!

local minimum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Got the same error as zlowrance

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53pm

So many cooking games this LD. I love it!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Aww nuts, i got the following error on run: "The application was unable to start correctly(0x000007b)" Can't launch the game. Some missing DLLs perhaps?

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Fun, Though a little buggy. I kinda don't understand the mechanics, it would be nice to know them.

Catmoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Slicing things is always lots of fun! Although I think I sliced it too much as then a dotted line just went from the table to the bottom of the screen. Went uber crazy with my slashing :D

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Doesn't run on my win7 64bit machine. I get error 0xc000007b immediately.

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Thanks for playing and commenting guys!
We also found this bug where when slicing too fast the game crashes, and in my spare time I'll try to fix it.
It isn't very clear, I know, but to achieve higher points you must slice in the direction the dotted line is showing :P
We want to make a more informative game by making it simulate the way you cut some ingredients when preparing some dishes as sushi, but unfortunately I couldn't program it on time... we will try to make this some time in the future :P
Those who are having issues trying to run the game, please download the VS2012 redistributable, it should fix all crashing on init problems.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04pm

"The application was unable to start correctly(0x000007b)" I can not play it. I expect better from a jam game. Specs:
Windows 7 (64 bit)
2GBs of ram
2.0GHz Processor.

Fix or Die. XD

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:10pm

says The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Nice work like a first entry ;) Like a fruit ninja :D I like it :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

hahahaha fun one! :D im hungry now xD

gmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:20am

really fun game! =) i liked it =)) great job!

mutilator says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:13am

This is a fun game, but when I just hold down the mouse button for slicing it seems to freeze the timer and everything. Sounds are good and I like the whole idea of the game.

Oana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Yay for slicing stuff. My only complaint is the poor choice of font color on top... can't see a thing! Other than that, it is fun. Just one question... why do you also cut the bowl? :))

zkenshin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:39am

Cutting mechanic was neat. :)

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:45am

my 64bit windows 8 can't play either, seems the game is not able to run on 64bit OSes?

Jedi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:02pm

I really like this one. The biggest flaw is having to start a new game through the menu after every 10 seconds of play. If it wasn't for that, I would want to play a lot more!

sittaman says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 4:22am

Pretty simple and fair. Loved it. Nice art and sound. With a few adjustments you have a great game and why not an AppStore/Google Play hit! Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]