August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Climb

by Stals - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have powers to slow down time - but only for 10 seconds (real time) - so for you it will be a little longer. You can jump from one spike/rock to another(you can jump of top or the sides of it) and need to escape without dying before time tuns out (you die if you touch the bottom of the rock).

To launch - run Climb.exe
You can play with one or two players.

Controls:
Player 1(red one) - Arrows to move and jump
Player 2(blue one) - A/D to move and W or Space to jump


All sound effects were made with SFXR, and music with cgMusic.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#479Audio2.69
#830Innovation2.60
#965Humor1.38
#1001Mood2.00
#1023Fun2.27
#1068Overall2.43
#1090Graphics1.92
#1123Theme2.17

Comments

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I'm really terrible at these types of games but I like the idea. Nice work!

bushmango says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36pm

I don't understand, why does time slow down?

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56pm

It doesn't fit on my screen (resolution: 1366 x 768)
and the controls are a bit too floaty for the precision needed to play

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23pm

I like the concept of it :) Unfortunately I don't think the execution of it was all that great.

My primary frustration was the controls, which I think kind of ruined it. They aren't precise enough for the precision asked for by the player. It's too floaty and not "sharp" enough. The most frustrating part of it was that the player falls extremely slowly relative to the spikes. I feel that mostly when I went to jump onto a spike, they would simply all fall to the ground before I had a chance to land on any, because they seem to fall faster than the player. I feel a simple tweak to make the player fall faster could do a lot for the game :)

But again, I really like the concept and think it has potential, very good job! Good luck in the competition.

redo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

It's fun and a little addictive, but I think that is to hard, it would have been better if the amount of rocks had been increasing slowly.
Also, there is no need to jump, you just can dodge the rocks on the ground. If you continued developing this, I suggest you make disappear the ground after the first jump.
The music is fun and goes right with the atmosphere.

Stals says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41pm

@redo Thank for the comment.
"I suggest you make disappear the ground after the first jump." - I thought about it but without alot more controls tuning it will be really frustrating to die every second because you can even jump on the first spike.

Jools64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08pm

This is a really cool idea but as was mentioned previously the physics make this too hard. If you could at least control jump height it would be much nicer.

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29pm

the physics in gaming terms ARE OP.

link2x101 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Solid, but needs work.

My major dislikes:
- The controls are way too slippery.
- The rocks/spikes disappear as soon as they hit the ground.

Enjoyable, anyway, but exceedingly difficult.

kratorspore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I just couldn't get into this. Way too hard!

h8urf8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Game is hard but fun. Only point is, that you don't need to jump before 8.7, because the rocks are falling faster than you and you can't really land on them.

And music is nice.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Nice small but challenging game. Good job!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:41pm

I really couldn't play this, because the game didn't fit in my screen.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Fun trick: position yourself next to a spike so that you're pushing it into the wall as you jump, and mash the jump button for a turbo ascent to victory! (Just keep a look for spikes overhead.)

Fun little game. As mentionned, higher gravity (with the appropriate adjustments to jump speed) would have made this a lot more enjoyable.

nixeldev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Very tricky but fun :) Think this might be the first LD game I've played thats made with Marmalade

Stals says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:33am

@nixeldev it was made with cocos2dx. I'm using marmalade just for easier cross-compiling

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Nice idea, but is very difficult :D However, is quite not bad.

fluffypillow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:51am

I didn't have problems with the controls, but it takes some time to get used to it. The idea is good but jumping on/from the spikes is difficult :)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Nice idea although the game was really laggy for me when the number of rocks on screen increased :(

Darkfrost says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Controls were way to 'floaty' imo, made it really hard to control, would've been better if you could control how how you jumping with how long you help the jump key (e.g. tap it = small jump)

Tanser says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:11pm

I'm on MAC and i think there is something wrong with the sounds. The sounds were way too high. Not only that but i couldn't do anything else than die :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]