August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seciond Patriot

by mscholz89 - Jam Entry

A Brock Jackson Story.

Cut the wires to disarm the bombs!!!

Made by my brothers and I in ~30 hrs or less for the Jam. Not a ton of gameplay compared to the amount of story, but this is the first game any of us made, so it was a learning experience. Should be mostly bug free.

Tools : Construct 2, GIMP, Sunvox, MSPAINT.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#146Humor(Jam)2.96
#290Theme(Jam)3.07
#386Mood(Jam)2.65
#423Audio(Jam)2.34
#471Innovation(Jam)2.48
#471Fun(Jam)2.45
#540Overall(Jam)2.52
#569Graphics(Jam)2.07

Comments

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:51am

Nice story ;) I like the way you design the bombs. Great work!

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53am

This looked real promising and I really wanted to play it but the second level was bugged and one wire was already cut when it started and the bomb countdown went negative and didn't explode, still I suppose that's good for the folks in the hospital :P The text could have been much slower too, but still nice concept :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:54am

Haha! I got some good laughs at the cliche tough guy cop story. Any game with a cop named "Brock" is great in my book! Nice job!

Beanalby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:54am

Not sure it's working right, once I got to the bomb nothing I clicked on had any effect. 2nd time it went the clock counted down past zero, into negative. Down to -56 at the moment. :)

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:02am

I got in a bug with the 3 vertical green wires, and the level kept looping. The text was hard to read at times, and it was kinda hard to keep track of the next text that was supposed to be read. I did enjoy the intentionally ridiculous art style. I hope to see you in the next LD... Construct 2 is a great tool, especially for these competitions

RadJor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:05am

Dude, that was awesome. Very simple and silly, but more fun than I expected. The disco ones threw me off at first :P. It would have been great if they were unlabeled and just basically blended with the color of the light (blue wire in yellow light would look green). Anyways great job, and kudos on HTML5.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:17am

YAY, Brock saved everyone and took acid! Hahah Nice game, I enjoyed more than I expected.

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:22am

Neat game with a fun story.

But seriously though, I'm trying to disarm a bomb over here. Someone tell them to turn off that disco ball!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:38am

I like the story. But I wish I could skip it and get right into the game. Actually the bomb design is flippin great. Let's see. How shall we score this? Ahh. it made me laugh. In the second act the bomb changed without me doing anything. Great Jam Guys BONUS POINTS FOR SUNVOX!!! Please rate my game!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

Decent silly fun. The ending is pretty weird. Also: I'm Brock, right? I should be able to send my Geodude after that guy.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

I enjoyed the story. Good job, Brock!

mscholz89 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Thanks everyone for playing the game, rating and commenting, it's cool to know people are playing and enjoying it. Sorry about the bugs :(. I will try and fix them soon if I can find the time.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:52am

Well, I found some of the words went by too fast, others too slow, making the game extremely hard to play in one minute, however I found the story pretty good and tried my best to include it in my Ludum Dare compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6xfnRK2Anw

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]