August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Feisty Forest

by soybean - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare :). My idea of 10 seconds is a collection of mini games to complete. Story is: every day Riding Hood brings food for her Grandma that lives in a hut deep in the forest. One day the Forest Fairy stops Riding Hood and takes her basket of food away. He challenges Riding Hood, if she can win all challenges, Riding Hood get her food back.

48 hours of game dev is really exhausting. I also happen to eventually cut things out from the initial design which I thought would fit to the 48 hours (or less) time frame. Now I need some sleep..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1906Coolness10%

Comments

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35am

little nice game! ;) Reminds me slightly of those wario-ware games.

soybean says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02am

Thanks :). I still need to learn how to polish things in a quick way like you do in your games :)

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45am

Nice game :D

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32am

Very cute and clean art. I liked that you attached a story element to some very simple games for context. Good job.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08pm

The artwork was awfully cute. The levels were simple, and pleasing. The bear level could use some work. The bears didn't reach me, and I don't think the candy did anything when I hit them. I found the font a bit distracting, but it didn't take away from my enjoyment of the game. I also liked the tie in with little red riding hood.

Congrats on your first Ludum Dare. I hope to see you at the next one.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Those boulders were tough. Looks really nice, and the gameplay variation is cool. I particularly enjoyed the island hoping level

soybean says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20am

@JayJay: thanks for playing :)

@Wertle: thanks :). Initially I had planned to make something more interesting with graphics and comic-like page, but too little time :(. I appreciate that you notice such subtle touches like these, I'll keep in mind to improve on that aspect.

@zatyka: thanks :). the candy needs to be in front of the bear, instead of hitting them.. so you should place it several steps 'below' the bear. sorry I failed to explain such vital information. yeah, I do agree the font needs to be replaced with something less fancy, I had noticed this as well but just continue to use it since I felt I had no more time to browser other fonts :(. Will keep your suggestions in mind for the next LD :). Thanks

@SecondDimension: thanks for playing :). I had initially wanted to do more mechanics / variations, but I couldn't make it..

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:54am

I enjoyed these minigames. In the beary one I won by just spamming. ^^
Good job, especially on the graphics.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:35am

Very cute game, and I love the art style. I didn't really understand the bear level but still passed every time (I don't know how!). The boulder level was probably the most fun, but I didn't realize at first that you changed direction every time you paused.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Nice graphics! I agree with the above comparison to Wario-Ware games! :)

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Works fine on Android Chrome, simple game mecanism but nice art.
Great job.

canvapps says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:55am

nice game, perfect for playing a bit :)
great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]