August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Mayhem

by jackw899 - Jam Entry

This is my first ever completed game! I am pretty happy with it.
I had a lot more ideas but I just didn't have time to do everything I wanted!

The 10 second theme is implemented as an event that happens every 10 seconds, either a bomb drops on you or you get spiked.

There is just 1 level on the game, you have to work out which order to open some doors because it is not as simple as it seems!

Mac and Linux has not been tested however I believe it should work!


Got to wait for bitbucket to change my repo to public then I will add links for bitbucket download!
edit: set the main links to bitbucket

Mega Links
Game: https://mega.co.nz/#!TtAB3SCC!fWShrH-ltAaXS5-vslb6jVRw9jw3gIV8oTNl3ZxI2Gk
Source:https://mega.co.nz/#!exB1XawQ!HT6YYToJo-f0C3ztnvqEWhTkNIBe0hCsnVE2WbySW_w

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1738Coolness22%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13am

Nice idea!

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:49am

I can't download it for an unknown reason :/

jackw899 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28pm

There is a bitbucket and mega link so if one doesn't work please try the other! :)

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:08pm

You should replace win/linux/mac with Mega / bitbucket

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Download link for windows doesn't seem to work?

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:23pm

It is a nice first game, and it seems like it has some cool level design, but sometimes my keys get eaten up even though the door doesn't open!

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Final score: 87! I was almost dead when I found my way though the maze. I wish I could evade the bombs / spikes with good timing. I like the fact that I had to use the keys in the correct order.
Good job!

jackw899 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Thanks everyone for playing! Very nice score Cthulhu!

SasoriDama I can't seem to reproduce that bug, maybe you are just not opening the doors in the correct order? :)

jackw899 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:03am

Added version compiled with jdk 6 on the bitbucket download page!

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:03am

Pretty little game. I would like animations to the character. But he was cute :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Downloaded the zip, unzipped it, and tried to run the game, but nothing happens... :/

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:07am

Very well done for your first complete game!

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:52am

Can't seem to get either version to start up on a mac for some reason. I'll have to revisit this one on Windows.

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:06am

Not a bad game. Nice job.

haxpor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Downloaded the game, and try it on Windows, nothing happens :/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]