August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sleepy Dungeon

by TheBoat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#243Theme3.50
#359Fun3.17
#584Overall3.03
#620Mood2.64
#830Innovation2.60
#842Humor1.76
#900Graphics2.30

Comments

ChronoDK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46am

A fun little game. I like the switching between 10 seconds of panic and 10 seconds of another kind of panic. Good work.

Which 2D framework did you use in Unity if any?

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15am

Hi Peter! How are you? :)

My space bar is smoking right now!! I rather quickly found out I could just hide when the enemies were active and attack when they slept. Made it a bit too easy I think.

But I liked the exploration and lighting part a lot - and +1 for random level generation! :D

TheBoat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Hi guys, thanks for the feedback, I use 2dToolkit and Ngui :)

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Cute 3:
now add screenshake and your game will earn a fucking ton of swag.

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Very nice little game :) Smooth controls and cool level generation. Good luck!

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Probably one of the more fun games I have played! Definitely could use some sound though.

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34pm

I am a Sleepy Dungeon Master! Hehe...well..if level 3 is a master. I almost felt bad waiting for the monsters to fall asleep before I murdered them.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:54am

Really cool! A lot like Gauntlet, which I love! There are some issues with the walls, and maybe there could be some more variety with the enemies, but apart from that it was a really fun game to play! Nice job!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:58pm

This is actually really fun guys! Good stuff! Though at the start of level two you can kind of spawn into the walls if you hold right hahah. The enemies hibernating after 10 seconds was a pretty good way of addressing the theme too : ).

TheBoat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:27pm

thanks for all the feedback and playing guys :) I am aware there are some physics issues, guess I spent too much time on the random generator and too little on the physics, thats how it is when you get carried away :)

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:05pm

AH! Nice concept. Keeps it changing!

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

fit the theme well, fun game, good job

shard123 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Really frantic and fun! I enjoyed playing but sometimes it was a little hard to tell which direction i was facing, other than that great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]