August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Walking Thingie

by deniska - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple game with one button controls.

Warning, few last levels may cause frustration.

To run game on OS X and Linux you have to install love2d from https://love2d.org/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#93Innovation3.77
#121Fun3.54
#239Overall3.41
#510Theme3.23
#662Mood2.59
#760Audio2.14
#848Humor1.75
#916Graphics2.27
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00am

Really like the walking mechanism. Good concept for a puzzler. :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:05am

I'm not exactly sure what to do with the .love file. Hm.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08am

A very innovative game!! I managed to get to lvl 8, before giving up. I really liked the idea, and felt entertained all the way through. Even laughed a bit at my own stupidity at times, especially in the later levels. I'll probably play this some more later :-)

1y1e says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10am

Good stuff! I really like quick, simple mechanics, and appreciate the quick turn around after death.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:19am

I love this concept! Very nice job! Good pacing!

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14pm

This is driving me mad! :D Had to retry like a million times and was getting really frustrated but just couldn't stop before I passed all the levels as it was so addictive. I'm so relieved that I finally made it. The graphics or sounds aren't anything special but fit well and are a lot better than silence. Awesome game! :)

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Tegu did better than me... I ended up conceding defeat! Nice work on the game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43pm

i've managed to lvl8! It's fun when you can walk rapidly hitting spacebar!
Overall great submission!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Interesting puzzler.

loxo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Great simple idea. It's fun to play and challenging. I like it!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Puzzles seem to be pretty popular for this LD, which I love. Great job on this one!

Thepattybeast says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice idea with the walking. it did get really hard at the gave up on level 8. but the game was fun so overall, great game!

drilltail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51am

Level 11 almost made me break things.

This game is so fun. Cool concept! Good amount of content for a 48-hour game. It frustrated me to hell, but that's not a bad thing; it gave me this insatiable urge to continue until I had cleared every level.

leafo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12am

This is a really cool idea. Great game.

alts says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:25am

The walking motion started to feel weirdly natural after a few levels, which was a big surprise. Had some flashbacks of playing Spin Doctor. Really like the spin-walking mechanic. Nice work. The game feels mechanically pretty complete. Only recommendation is to revisit it for a visual/audio upgrade. Nice work.

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:43am

This is a fun and addicting game. I like how its simple with just using one button. Although I like the sound effects I think it could use some background music while you are playing. Too much silence. Overall good game!

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Wow, I like

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]