August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zdeno

by duane.byer - Jam Entry

Grapple, rocket, and shoot your way through the facility. Only ten seconds are given between checkpoints, so use them well.

CONTROLS:

Use the arrow keys to run and jump. Press or hold X to use your current item.

Walkthrough now available at: http://youtu.be/q6y0XjFGLlY.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#210Overall(Jam)3.29
#242Theme(Jam)3.20
#310Audio(Jam)2.77
#317Mood(Jam)2.86
#353Graphics(Jam)3.02
#358Fun(Jam)2.76
#375Innovation(Jam)2.77
#420Humor(Jam)1.88

Comments

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46am

Not bad! I liked the idea a lot. It was a bit difficult moving around and the color palette made it hard to see things on screen. But otherwise, very good.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52am

A little tough given that each checkpoint can only be used once, but really fun

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:55am

one gets nervous pretty fast while playing this game, huh (:

murilo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

Too hard! But it was fun.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37am

Very cool game, definitely would be fun to play on GameJolt/etc

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03am

The puzzle element of each checkpoint only once is really clever for a fast-paced game, and I have a sore spot for metroidvania games. Just a bit too hard/not enough time for me to figure out all my abilities!

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:29am

For some reason, I find dying too quickly funny in this game! I know there is some strategy involved for getting a good ending, but I haven't figured it out yet.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Decent little game. I liked a lot of the ideas for mechanics, but the execution wasn't great at times.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:41pm

There seems to be quite a lot of substance there, but I die way too fast to experience any of it. :D Even without the time limit it would be hopeless for me. But it seems very fun and quite complex for a game that was made on a single weekend.

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Good atmosphere and mood, nightmarishly difficult!

duane.byer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I've uploaded a walkthrough at http://youtu.be/q6y0XjFGLlY. It's low quality, but should be watch-able.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52pm

It looking good, I played and it's very nice, but I don't finish it yet. Maybe in this week when I will be rested... :) Good job.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:06pm

I liked the idea of it a lot but had a hard time with the movement in it. Liked the challenge and puzzle element to it.

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Very difficult but nice to play. Color palette is a bit too dark also for me.

Infin8 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Quite Promising an fun at times, but the equipment functioned quite wonkily at times.

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:38pm

The checkpoint idea is great! First time I've seen it :)

DrunkenOrc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Very cool in all respects, but the gameplay, especially controls, seemed a bit finicky.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:39am

The game's pretty hard, the insta-death is a little discouraging, but it gets balanced with the checkpoint system.
The palette you've chosen here is a tad too dark for comfort. I didn't realize the grey scribbles on the floor were lethal on the first few tries.

Overall, a good game. :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:57am

Pretty good! It's a little too easy to just get stuck and have to start over, though. I suppose that's part of the idea...

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:25am

good job

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:54am

Far too hard, and very frustrating. From what I've seen it looked quite interesting; wish I could've completed it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]