August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SlimeZone

by SayersLabs - Jam Entry

SlimeZone is a 2D King of the Hill platformer!

You can play as one of 3 characters and your goal is to get to the capture zone, and stay in there for a consecutive 10 seconds without the enemy interfering. Sounds easy enough, but the enemy will not let you claim it so easy, and will try killing you to claim it for themselves!

Notes:
- We plan on doing multiplayer post compo, for now, there is only a very basic AI but it will still try to kill you and prevent you from getting the zone.
- Written purely in Java Swing, using one audio playing library called Tiny Sound (https://github.com/finnkuusisto/TinySound), no frameworks used.
- Features a Tiled (http://www.mapeditor.org/) XML map parser.

PRESS F TO FULLSCREEN

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#322Humor(Jam)2.29
#340Theme(Jam)2.97
#462Fun(Jam)2.47
#463Innovation(Jam)2.51
#464Audio(Jam)2.00
#482Mood(Jam)2.32
#528Graphics(Jam)2.36
#530Overall(Jam)2.53

Comments

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Very cute game :) I liked the whole idea behind it! Was able to win the game too ;) I loved the retro feel the game gave me :) Good job!

As a small note, I'm sure this had to do with the time limit of the competition, but if you plan on developing the idea further then balancing should be a primary focus :) Make the combat somehow more varied so there's more jumping/gunning and running around when fighting for a zone :) I think adding those kind of dynamics would help the whole objective of capturing the zone :)

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17pm

It was good, with decently done graphics and a simple but fun concept. I would suggest working on the sound and making it longer somehow. It had a really good menu though.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:42am

NEat. Reminds me of worms.

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:31pm

I've tried the web, jar and windows version. I'm on windows 8. I can't get farther than the character selection screen :(

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Same here, sadly, but WinXP. I'd really like to play it. =/

SayersLabs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:43pm

@TammiLion & ShellfishGames
Do you happen to be using Java 6? If so, try upgrading to Java 7 and see if it works.

Meep says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I like the idea of capturing some zone for 10 seconds for this theme. :) Better artwork would have helped a lot, but great work, regardless!

UntitledQ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:51pm

I can't play the game. The main menu and instructions appear to work, but when I select a character it hangs and the console spams with these exceptions: http://pastebin.com/p8Wrmfz5

(I'm using Java 7 for the record)

SayersLabs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:23pm

@UntitledQ & others with problems playing game
Bug should be fixed now

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:22am

OK, it did indeed work this time. I encountered two bugs though - during the first few matches the camera was extremely slow and needed at least 5 seconds to move to the player. After I changed my class, the camera was as fast as it was probably intended. Also, when I use the secondary ability of the ninja, the game isn't drawn anymore and I have to leave it via the pause screen.
But I do like the concept, and as lame as it sounds.. the moon. :D

MisterDerek2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Add some sound and keep working on it! Really wanted to say "you had me at slimezone" for this one!

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

"This is my Slime Zone!" -Me, while standing in the slime zone and shooting red slime worm things

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

raver says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Nice game. This will be great multiplayer game if you polish movement a little.

acro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Fun game and I liked the minimalist graphical style. Would love to see a multiplayer version. Would be nice to have a mini map to see where you are in relation to the goal and some improved enemy AI.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Every one of the games we make we try to put a slime in it, so this one was a must play for me! This was a good concept but would have used a bit of polish and I felt it was a bit short also. I would have liked to have seen mouse aiming for attacks and maybe multiple capture points or something to make the game a little more interesting. Not a bad entry though!

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:15am

You have a good idea here, but the control scheme kinda kills it. The controls are already confusing from the menu -- the game controls are WASD with spacebar and mouse, but you have to use enter to select things in the menu and can't use the mouse? If you polish this, consider making mouse clicks also work in the menu and nixing the enter key altogether. Make space a selector.

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:03am

Very interesting idea. The game feels really empty, having teams would make this more exciting. I like the use of theme. It was a lot of fun playing with this.

Mandraw says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:14am

good game , toygh like shellfish , i cant use second ability un less i accept to play witout seeing what i do...

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:18am

Seems like a nice concept. Was a bit confusing trying to get through the main menu, though. Could use more polish and better controls, but good job!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Nice game, I really enjoyed the class wizard :P Sadly, fraps will not record it so I cannot add it to my LD27 compilation video series :/

Connors says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:22am

I lost twice because I didn't know where the capture point was, so maybe you should make the map smaller and more focused? But if you're making it multiplayer, that could be fun, except I didn't see much of a way to really avoid enemy attacks or counter them so you should make it so there are more strategies to use... That's my 2 cents anyways.

Andresh says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:13am

Could use some polish, kept freezing after trying to use the ability attack. Map a bit too big. Cool choice of characters, liked how you incorporated the class into them.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]