August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Eat to Live

by Ramon Imbao - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-- Prologue --
Zombies are stupid. They're so stupid, they don't even know how to eat. They probably have 0 IQ.

What's that? Some zombies managed to develop an IQ of 10? I wouldn't worry, due to the increased brain activity, their bodies decay faster. They probably have around 10 seconds before they die permanently. Unless they eat of course.

-- About --
Play as a zombie with an IQ of 10! Watch out though, you only have 10 seconds to eat someone before you rot permanently! So keep eating! Eat to live!

-- Controls --
WASD / Arrow Keys - Movement
SPACE / Z - Attack
Note: Due to you still having an IQ of 10, you can't actually attack while moving!
(That's not a bug, that's a feature!)

-- Notes About the Source --
Although I'm using Haxe and OpenFL, I can't seem to compile for native. I've encountered this before and it seems to be an issue with putting functions in create() and new(), but since my target is really Flash, I have no intention of fixing it at the moment. That's also why I did NOT include the .wav's for the sound files I used. Anyway, it shouldn't be difficult to convert the .wav's to MP3s for native platforms.

EDIT: Derp. I've only been playing this thing on my desktop, and have always been using the standalone Flash Projector. I played it on a PC without one, and the background is displayed wrongly since this is supposed to be played on a 1280x480 screen. I might just go host the game somewhere.

EDIT2: I've hosted the game on my dropbox!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#455Graphics3.05
#566Theme3.17
#734Audio2.21
#980Innovation2.33
#981Mood2.07
#1046Overall2.47
#1101Fun2.05
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42am

Hard to tell yourself apart from the other zombies, though maybe that's intentional.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43am

I had to download the SWF. Why not put it on a webpage so it just runs? But I did download it and played it and the game has tremendous humor and a lot of promise. It's hard to actually eat people though--I was never sure where I was supposed to be standing. Then I ate up all the people and there was no-one left, so I just kept dying. Something missing here?

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45am

Really cute visuals, and a fun idea. Hard to tell which zombie you are, though, and really hard to catch up to a person long enough to attack them. Would be really fun with a little more work, though!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

Absolute Chaos! Just like any good zombie game should be! Very fun to play.

lucidlarva says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03am

Very nice, I agree with OldPeculier though, its hard to tell where you're supposed to be to hit people.

ericdpitts says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:07am

Awesome! Cool idea, herding the humans was good fun. I would suggest some kind of visual/audio cue to indicate that you are successfully hitting a human, since I never was sure I was doing it right until they either turned into a zombie or just walked away. :P

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40am

I struggled to manage to get a hit on anyone. Also pure luck that I discovered you could smash the doors. Other than that it is quite well rounded, I can see this becoming a nice little arcade game.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38am

I wish I had more IQ... nice job!

Ramon Imbao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Fixed my game a bit by hosting it on a page instead of having you guys download the SWF! It's still buggy and weird, though. Thanks for your comments, guys!

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:29pm

This has potential but the control scheme was really lacking. Was disappointing to barely get a single kill.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:16pm

I dig the minimalist graphics and it was a really fun concept! However I feel like it got frustrating trying to chase people down and dying over and over haha. I really liked that there were so many zombies on screen at once but at the same time it got semi confusing which one I was. Overall good stuff guys.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:26pm

I like the art and the music, but I find it hard to eat someone.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:37am

Nice pixels.
I scored once, but I wasn't able to do it again. It's a bit complicated to understand what are the eating conditions. Do we have to be on the human, near him ?

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Good, fun entry. Some more feedback when attacking a victim would be good, and it was a bit difficult to catch anyone. An interesting take on the theme.

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Fun concept and game. But the limitation on the controls to run OR eat is a little bit frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]