August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Shooter

by mcbeckjr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD scrolls through menu.
E to select, Q to return to main menu from info pages.
WASD/Arrow Keys control movement of character.
Space to shoot.
Survive.
Read the rules for more info.

Set in a retro 80's class reunion.

*Known Bugs*
-Sometimes the zombies will not die when shot. Restarting the game should fix that issue. It seems to be caused by pressing the spacebar before any zombies spawn.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#217Audio3.16
#500Humor2.31
#526Fun2.96
#828Theme2.85
#893Mood2.27
#929Overall2.65
#1014Graphics2.11
#1134Innovation1.94

Comments

Ice says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:11pm

You should put a basic animation, and some sound effect beside our shot =D

mcbeckjr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:30am

Thanks! :D Animation is my next step with this, I didn't have time to add it during the competition.

beaugunderson says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42am

Web link is broken!

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42am

Decent controls. Perfect shooter. All shooting no pointless yelling.

mcbeckjr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

I checked the link, no issues with it?

mcbeckjr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

Thanks for the feedback!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

Link works. I like the art and music. The art is simple but effective.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

I liked the music, it kept the intensity up. My high score is 1632.2, I think that's pretty good.

mcbeckjr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

My best is 1773, it gets tough at the higher levels!

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

Not bad! While the game doesn't match the theme very well, it's fun.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Game isn't loading for me

mcbeckjr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:36pm

I didn't have time to make a loading screen, so while it may seem like it's not loading it really is.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

good job

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Pressing space also scrolled the window, which made the game a bit hard.. =)

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I really liked the background music and the sounds. Controls were smooth. I felt i died due to my mistakes and not those of the game.

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Pretty good game. The controls were very smooth, and the music was pretty suitable for the game. My best is 1883 or so. Also, you can't go wrong for the "pew pew pew" sounds!

kantieno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I liked the music, but gameplay was a little lacking. Overall I think you did well.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Did you make the music?
Overall it needs more weapons and enemies.

mcbeckjr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I made the music using Garageband on my Mac, and the game using Flash CS6 on my PC

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40pm

It's simple, but a lot of fun. Great work, man. The shooting is very satisfying.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16am

Simple but fun! Not a big fan of the music though

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:10am

never thought I'd play a zombie game where I'd wish there would be more zombies. fun game!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

Fun simple shooter

canvapps says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Shooters for the win!
great one!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I really liked the music!!! Its really awesome! I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1OMEshCeQ0

bitowl says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:10pm

quite a lot of fun, the controls felt good and the music is awsome. just could use better graphics ;)

Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:08am

Very nice music.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]