August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Explosive Space Shuffleboard, A Cautionary Tale of Militant Bueracracy

by Ian Small - Jam Entry

In 10 seconds the missiles will reach their target! You must stop them with the only weapon in your arsenal... MILITANT BUREAUCRACY! Throw the explosive Middle Management, and in 10 seconds they will detonate!


Missing Functionality:

- Game Logic (No win condition, ways to restart, etc)

- Countermeasure unfinished (placeholder model, no physics interaction)

- Missile mechanics (advanced missile paths and patterns missing)

Post Mortem:

We had a few problems with one of our programmers, so we unintentionally bit of more than we were prepared to chew when it came to game mechanics.

All told, we weren't terribly off from our planned goals. The game logic missing plus the lack of explosions on the counter measures is a gameplay death sentence, but I'm not completely crushed. We learned where the worst of our communications come from, but most importantly learned how REALLY fast we can put out work if we absolutely must. (Also learned that it's critical for the artist to get their own assets in engine, as that was a major productivity expense to halt production to fix supposedly ready assets :-P ).

Our sound guy did a PHENOMENAL job on the music. We can't take any direct credit for the explosions though, as those were from a third party source (always found it odd that explosions were not part of the unity engine natively).


Change Log:

version 0.0.0.6
- Fixed counter-measure behavior for new art asset. Now orients itself to drag vector. Rotation temporarily disabled.

version 0.0.0.5

- Added counter measure throwing mechanic.

- Added some simple lighting.

- Added fancier base to protect.

- Corrected missile facing.

version 0.0.0.4

- Added art assets for missiles and base surface.

- Added theme music


version 0.0.0.3

- Added explosions for missiles

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#310Audio(Jam)2.77
#356Graphics(Jam)3.00
#596Theme(Jam)1.67
#610Innovation(Jam)1.59
#612Fun(Jam)1.33
#618Overall(Jam)1.56
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Looks pretty nice but not much happens when I put the things into the air

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Finish it and post a non submission link in a post mortem, I'd play it. love this graphical style

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58pm

I have no idea what's going on (is there anything going on?). I dropped a ton of missiles (I think) and nothing really changed. However the music is great and the art is beautiful! It's too bad to hear that you had programming issues, because the assets are really promising and the concept seems hilarious.

Thermite says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:02am

After lots of frenzied clicking and keyboard mashing, I'm still not sure what I'm meant to be doing. Sorry!

Unept says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:56am

Cool idea, would be nice to see it fully functional.

1fir3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Not convinient gameplay spoils the game.

Joror says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Graphics pretty nice, but without gameplay, it is just for show. :) (make mechanics first, then graphics! ;))

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:05am

Shame you didn't get more time, looks like a nice start.

Blue Steel says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:12am

I can't rate it because to me its unplayable so i cant rate it

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Shame it didn't work out as planned, like the idea though.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Sad it's not fully functional, but the idea sounds good and music is nice :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]