August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds To Destroy

by ShadowFire3800 - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT: Windows version MUST have XNA Framework 4.0! Google it! Mac and Linux versions MUST have Mono Runtime! Google it!

As the title says, this game is about destroying. You have 10 seconds to destroy as much as possible with a wrecking ball.

In this game, there are time warps. They bring the time back to 10, and 2 of them spawn when the time is 5 and when both of the other two are collected. They spawn anywhere in the map and also have a spinning beam.

There are 2 different maps. One is a city map, the other is a randomly generated plains type of map.

CONTROLS: WASD to move, Space to ascend, and Shift to descend. (Camera only moves horizontally due to rotating problems.)

Credits:
{Music}:
[Main Menu and Game Over Themes] Circlerun
[In-Game Music] Original by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov Arranged and looped by Johan Brodd
{Code}:
[Map Generator] Big thanks to Jaunmakenro on the CraftStudio forums for his noise generator!

Anyways, this game was all coded by me with some help from my friend for building. This was my first Ludum Dare, and I am entering the next one!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#183Innovation(Jam)3.22
#319Theme(Jam)3.00
#327Audio(Jam)2.71
#491Fun(Jam)2.38
#494Graphics(Jam)2.54
#504Mood(Jam)2.21
#540Overall(Jam)2.52
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

The concept is original, but the camera is a bit crazy.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42am

Yeah, I could only get the camera to move horizontally.

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46am

I like the "Wrecking ball" idea, but you should have had some sort of physics engine, perhaps use unity next time you have a project like this so it will be more satisfying.

Alexander says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46am

TOO HARD FOR ME

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

Couldn't get it to run!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:55am

Angrycow, what OS are you on? And did you install the required things at the top?

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:27am

Great concept!
Difficulty curve is steep.

nixeldev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Fun concept, got some potential :)

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Damn, good concept, but camera is quite bad... I noticed block disappearing after a few seconds. Camera looking from above, smoothly rotating/moving... That would be better voxely experience. And maybe add some physics like someone already suggested. Or ditch the ball and name it 3D rubber. That would be another interesting concept, 3d erasing certain voxels for some mechanism to work.

haxpor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:58pm

The music and (suddenly) main menu screen is groovy, reminds me about Hotline Miami. Gameplay, I can only get camera to move in horizontal though when I chose to play on random and it spawned terrain for me which is far below I can't get to it.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:09am

Ooops! I forgot to post the controls! WASD to move, SPACE to go up, and SHIFT to go down!

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

fun

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:38pm

These XNA games never run on my laptop... this game could use a little more polish on camera and controls, I guess.

VeloSpectre says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:15am

Pretty amusing. I enjoyed the destruction element.

Reyn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:01am

Nice idea, feels like 10 seconds is a bit short for the concept.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:25am

camera is crazy, I would have preferred fixed camera and the ball move around on the screen. Too bad the buildings didnt fall over or something :(

Overall interesting and different!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:38pm

There are time warps that spawn when the time reaches 5. If you get one of them, it sets the time back to 10.

Delca says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:26pm

A good idea, although the controls could use a little more polish (like, controlling the ball using the mouse) : vertical movement was quite hard to get used to. Also, it seems like the city level is not resetting itself, and I am keeping the score through each play : is that normal?

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Nope, you found a bug. Sorry lol. Going to fix it now...

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Also, the map should reset if you press R.

jwolf says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:09am

Pretty neat, although it was very choppy on my end. My computer is a couple years old, though.

Personally, I would have preferred mouse-look plus keyboard controls for movement, although that may be me being picky.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Found this game to be a bit odd. The map did not reset for me which wasnt too great, and I would have liked Key Board controls to move the ball instead of the current ways. Other than that solid game. I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tvnhwc_j5Mo

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]