August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

And All Went Out

by niun - Jam Entry

Right, well were to being?
I've been sat in front of a machine for 3 days. Didn't start coding till the last day so I spent waaaay too much time fooling around in Photoshop.
I finished the Unity build with 10 seconds to go.

Still I had a clear Idea and you may be able to glean just a smidgen of it from this - if you can get the downloads to work.

Few things missing - Sound - no time.
Goals - no time.
Victory - no idea, this has not been play tested at all.
Death = possibly. Not play tested.
Bugs - Yes, it's at deaths door

Apart from that here is a list of things that should have been in there if I'd had more time.
Artillery strikes with booming sounds and lots of flashes - dirt being kicked up.
Proper graphics for the room backgrounds with some nice lighting effects.
Animated characters.
Dialogue with orders - pictures of the cast etc..
Story.

Well, this is as far as I made it in 72 hours.

It's not so much a game as an interactive idea for a potential game.

Oh yeah, arrow keys to move, space to jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

Chimera says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:24am

This looks nice, like the art, but the "Windows" link takes me to a 404 Error. Will be back later to see if the link gets fixed.

niun says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Fixed the link. Errrr I have no idea if the windows.exe actually works. I'm only on my Air so I can't test windows at all.
Let me know if the link works.

niun says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45pm

oh bear in mind that there is no real playable game here. Just an interactive idea for a game.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:12pm

WW1 theme very nice :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:16am

I fell through the earth, but it was nice

Xgor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:20am

Wish this was finished :( Nice visuals though.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:48pm

gfx is really cool :D

niun says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:03pm

@BasmanovDaniil

You fell through the earth? FFS! I bet I know why. I have a horrible feeling I missed a few colliders on the last TileMap refresh..
Doh..

Anyhoo, thanks for the kind words folks. I'm currently having another stab at this to get an actual finished version done. I'll post a link once it's done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]