August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fast-Paced Card Action: 10 Second Card Game

by Baknik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this fact-paced card game, your goal is to gather as many gems as you can until time runs out. You start with 10 seconds on the clock, but can increase your time limit though careful card selection.

My goal was to create a cleanly executed concept with decent 2D graphics that would satisfy the theme, and I believe I've succeeded. The concept is simple, and I feel like it's a nice game to blow a few minutes with.

I may return to this game after the compo is finished and add some features like:
- New "rare" cards with unique abilities
- More strategy elements
- Start with a bit more time. 10 seconds was chosen to suit the theme.

Feel free to include any comments or questions you may have in the comments below. Have fun playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Innovation3.78
#160Fun3.48
#188Overall3.48
#213Theme3.54
#419Graphics3.11
#442Audio2.74
#536Mood2.75
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

tower07 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56am

Highest score was 83!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56am

Interesting game, got the hang of it pretty quickly. Wasn't sure if the multipliers were effecting the card before or after it?

Smooth graphics/transitions/sounds. All around well put together.

Baknik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57am

Glad you enjoyed it!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57am

Yes, this concept was very well-executed. It almost feels like a professional response-time tester for psychological purposes. Great job.

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:06am

Very fun game! I must have played this for at least 10 minutes.
My only complaint is that it's a bit too easy once you rack up a bunch of time. I got to over 300 crystals, and 300 time, then quit.

Baknik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:11am

There's definitely more balancing that needs to be done. Thanks for playing!

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48am

hmmf, no linux version

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49am

That was really fun, and it looked pretty, too. http://imgur.com/xKnQAJM

Grip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44am

As stated before, it might need more balanced in the future. If those goes on mobile some day, I'd play it all day.

FakeHair says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:02am

A simple card game that gets to be really intense. I'd like to see the multiplier cards stack (if they don't already). I had a 2x > 3x > 1s card setup and I didn't get 6 seconds for it.

Baknik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21am

The multipliers should already be stacking. If they weren't for you, it may be a bug. If anyone else has this issue let me know.

ripatti says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Interesting game)
My score is 487, after that I'm tired to play and lose...
Anyway, good idea, graphics, sounds and implementation.

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I loved your concept. I beg you to make a future version with more strategic things to carry and variety *-*
5/5 for Innovation

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58pm

It was cool, I played it for a while! :P

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Awesome entry! Very clean graphics and the audio is very fitting. Also highly innovative. You should totally keep going with this!

oxysoft says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:08am

Very fun and simple game. I got a score of like 400

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

Really neat game. Straight forward and fun! I wish the amount on the clock was more than 10, but I guess you were stuck in choosing that :)

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:51am

Really enjoyed this one. :)

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Great entry! Take this base game and add those features you talked about and launch to mobile. You have an awesome idea here, buddy. It's simple and addictive. Well done!

X-0r says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Nice concept, easy to learn. Could still use some polish/balance, since it's quite easy to stack up a lot of multipliers and finish it all of with a nice time increase.
It was fun to play, can't remember when I stopped, but I played for quite a few minutes =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]