August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Quickfire

by Aaron4576 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls and all are explained in game, but the game is basically beat the other opponent in a set amount of time(can you guess?).

*I changed the entry from an installer to a zip if the zip doesn't work for please comment below(Thanks in advance!)

KNOWN BUGS:
*Cannot close game while in end game state or begin state
or after winning, but by either using alt + F4 or task manager you can end the program

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58am

Seriously, not an installer please.

Aaron4576 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Sorry I couldn't find any other way to package it up

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:23pm

You couldn't just use a .zip?

Aaron4576 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I tried that but it didn't work at first I think I'll make an alternate download with the zip

Aaron4576 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Ok fixed the link now its a zip instead of an installer, please comment if it doesn't work!

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:23am

The game works fine
the start was very unexpected but good game overall

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Thanks for the .zip, works fine!

Nice little game. When I won the "You won" message kept appearing all the time.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Pretty fun intense game, it could use some more mechanics though, and I had the same problem with the game not replaying, but good work!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Pretty nice work! I would have liked sound, but oh well. You fit the theme well. If you win, the game doesn't restart. The only way to close the game is ending the process. Keep it up!

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:10pm

I loved the idea, but the execution was poor. It's a shame more effort wasn't put into this because this could be a realyl good game. Most of all the AI needs to be... better. I feel like you just enter a random control every quarter second or something, haha. Would love to see a more polished version of this same idea.

X-0r says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Damn, that enemy is jumpy. Not sure if it wanted to hit me at all, or if it was just randomized... It's a bit unpolished, could use some SFX, etc. All in all a nice minimalistic shooter =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]