August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ambition

by Cheshyr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Flip tiles to earn points. Level up so you can flip heavier tiles. At the end, your entire path is shown as a single image. Intended more content, especially related to the tile flip mechanic, but ran out of time.

-----

You are 16 years old, and you've got your whole life ahead of you. Every 10 seconds, you're given an opportunity. Select a skill, enter the password, and you're one step better. A little bit more than you were. Miss that opportunity, and it's gone for good.

The problem is, there's a whole world out there to explore. What's the point of training these skills, if you can't use them? What's worse: missing a chance because you were unprepared, or missing it because you weren't looking?

Retirement is at 65. You've got 49 years... make them count.

-----

Choose a skill to train by clicking on the P, A, or S button on the top right.

Enter the passcode using the 1,2,3,4 keyboard keys. A new passcode is presented every 10 seconds, with a new opportunity to train your self further.

Explore the map to earn points; click on the tile to explore it. To explore a tile, you must have the necessary skill. You can come back later if you need more training.

Where will your ambitions take you? Who will you become?

-----

There are always features that get cut due to the time limits. If there's enough interest, I will continue developing this after LD27. Additional features included skill-based life events while exploring, random boons and liabilities, and a ton of other stuff to make it more real game, and less game jam.

Let me know what you think, and if you find any bugs. Ports will be out after the deadline.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#171Innovation3.57
#326Graphics3.29
#465Audio2.71
#610Overall3.00
#700Theme3.00
#869Mood2.31
#927Humor1.53
#944Fun2.43

Comments

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42am

it gets boring quickly

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

Poo, no linux version :|

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01am

@Tork: Yeah, ran out of time before I could get all the goodies in.

@Ravetcofx: It's in the works; I just needed a nap before I started all the porting. Gimme an hour.

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02am

I think it shows potential.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

@PaidGEEK: Thanks. If 10sec had been 30 sec, and I'd had another day or two, it could have held a lot more meat.

@Ravetcofx: Linux port is up.

Fervir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56am

This game is really fun.
The whole multitasking thing is really neat.
Cool interpretation of the theme.

jugglerrob says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

Awesome, Hexagons are my favorite shapes

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07am

An attractive game, but there's not much to it. I wasn't very motivated to play all the way to retirement.

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45am

The camera slide and turning over of hexes with that subtle metallic sound enchanted me! If you continue to develop this, have you considered animating the integrated attribute upgrade with the colored tiles?

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45am

Thanks for the feedback. I agree that it could use some rework. The password mechanic feels disconnected from the rest of the game, and all the parts that would have made exploration *fun* were back-burnered until the bugs were sorted. I'm definitely open to suggestions; this code is going to be reworked eventually, either into a revised version of this game, or into a future game.

xhunterko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Good idea. I was a little confused at how the controls worked at first. Then I was confused at how to level up. Still not bad though.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Simple but nice graphic ;)

siat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:36am

Very zen, I wish there had been more strategy.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:51am

I couldn't understand how to play it. What do you do by flipping the tiles?

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:43pm

I loved the graphics, and it seems interesting, but despite reading the instructions I didn't really understand what was going on.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]