August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Devil That Comes

by Zetsaika - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"About our inner devils and things thereof."

For those with problems to start: Try typing the bottom line.

For those with problems after that: Try to continue typing.

EDIT #1

Removed some typos.

FIRST

Maybe there are some errors regarding english. If there are, i will correct then in a later polished version. If there are not, yay for me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#27Mood3.91
#74Audio3.58
#123Innovation3.68
#610Overall3.00
#735Graphics2.59
#969Humor1.35
#1011Fun2.30
#1165Theme1.84

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Perhaps it's because I just finished my entry and my brain is dead but I can't get through the "Every now and then, ..." screen.

Some instructions would be useful :)

Zetsaika says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Add in this page description. I knew this would be a problem, but i opted for the no in game tutorial aprouch(it's probably bad in this case).

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:03pm

I completed the game, it's pretty original. At first you don't really see the point in the gameplay but as you type the story you feel somehow part of it, it makes you pay attention and, as weird as it can sound, typing can be immersing.

Well done!

CTATZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39am

Interesting concept!

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

That was very interesting! Good work!

qrunchmonkey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

I got through the first scene, but I'm not sure what to do at the 'end it please' scene. Is that the end?

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

This is definitely interesting. Great mood and great use of audio to heighten that mood.

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

I loved it. Really well scoped, and just about the right length.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

The concept is interesting, but ultimately this game is too stressful for me to have any fun with it. I got pretty far, but I have no idea how far I was from finishing, and it became almost impossible to keep up. I am not the fastest typist in the world, but I think the premise makes it a little inaccessible. I'm not sure how the theme fit into things, also. The atmosphere is well done. I did notice a couple typos, but not so many that it seriously detracted from the experience.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19pm

I really like the concept and the sounds make it tense. Good job!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Creepy. Finishing gave me carpal tunnel.

rpmoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Great idea, but it has some typos and I don't know exactly where the 10 seconds fit it.

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

"it makes you pay attention and, as weird as it can sound, typing can be immersing." Exactlty, really good experience ;)

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Excellent and unique. Could perhaps make it clearer that the "please, end, no more etc" is the game over screen. It was truly stressful and you really had to read the words in your head. Never experienced a story where you actually have to act it out yourself. Amazing work!!

andreyin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Creepy.. I liked it!

kannas says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51pm

oh gawd. the game is quite innovative from my perspective. i really like it, but i am sorry, i can't pull myself to play scary games. i know that it seems silly, but trust me. i stopped playing amnesia after the first 30 seconds, when a breeze of air and some voices came out of a dark door. But from what i played, i have to say Great work :D

sebb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Good mood but i really have no clue what to do at the second screen, some sort of hints would be nice, it might just be me bing a dimwit, bit it makes it unplayable to me :I

lalanl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32am

Loved the tension and dark feel. I think I would have liked a cutscene (of text), or maybe having the devil handle the red typing, just to break up the long chunks of typing as fast as I possibly can.

It was very artful and enjoyable. I feel like your ability to make such an engaging text game would perhaps make you someone who would also be interested in Twine games.

Well done, and thanks!

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Very creepy. Very awesome. Good Game

HD408 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Gets exhaustive soon, but immersive. Good work. Some typos still remain.

Laelien says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Wow.
Just... wow.
Got a little hard time understanding what I was supposed to do, but it's really FUCKING INTENSE.
Excellent job, very original.
...
Wow.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:22pm

what an intense experience. impressive and highly innovative.

alts says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:43am

Wow. This was really great. I had some difficulty understanding how things worked (and that I'd "lost" at first). The stress from trying to type things fast enough while reading really seemed to enhance the text. This felt incredibly unique, and a great example of some atypical interactive fiction. I really enjoyed it. The only critiques I could give are more writing critiques, and I feel like I'm not really capable of doing that. Well done, and thanks.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:56am

got stuck on the 2nd screen. didn't know what to type.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]