August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hoard Frenzy

by ryan0788 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I promised myself that I wouldn't affiliate myself with #LDTD, but halfway through I realized that I was doing it anyways. I'm sorry. Don't hate me.

In this game you have to defend your base against ever-growing waves of zombies, every 10 seconds. You buy the tiles that you want to place, but a worker has to unpack it before you can place it so defend your workers! (Or they will unionize) You gain coins by killing zombies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#192Fun3.41
#356Overall3.26
#399Audio2.81
#401Graphics3.15
#470Mood2.83
#660Humor2.06
#667Innovation2.81
#902Theme2.74
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

easytospell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

it was really fun, then i got a huge wall of the cannons that cost 10 moneys that the zombies couldnt do anything about i guess that equals winning :)

ryan0788 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15pm

@easytospell Thanks! If you wait a few waves lots of tank zombies come and it gets challenging :)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41pm

The pixel art is beautifully intricate, well done! Rated highly. :)

jwolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Pretty fun! It's quite challenging early on, although if you survive long enough it gets pretty easy (even with the tanks). Might be due to a performance issue with too many guns firing...but that's just a quibble. Overall, this is a pretty solid entry.

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:56am

This is a pretty clever take on the PvZ/Tower defence genre.

borden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

Very cool. A personal favorite. I would really like the worker mechanic, but if a zombie gets back that far it's game over anyway.

Just needs some balancing.
It has a backwards difficulty curve, and it can be hard to line up the guns.

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:04am

Like the game, still way too many lines of action, also it took me a while to be sure which row of a zombie would be for a gun

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28am

Quite a fun take on TD!
I like it that the buildings are delayed due to the workers running about,
although after you figure out the rhythm of the start of the game (placing turrets when & where) it becomes a linear progression.

Ended up with wave 100 & 90% of the map is covered in cannons ^_^

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38am

Nice!

I wasn't sure what I was doing at first. A tutorial level would be helpful, but the game is great otherwise.

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43am

Couldn't get it to run :( I'm on Mac OS X 10.8.4, running Java 7. I get to a window that lets me choose the screen dimensions, but it immediately crashes when opening the game window.

ryan0788 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:54pm

@frogcheese I'll take a look at that today, I think it might be because of the font loader? Does anyone know if Mac supports .ttf files?

Thermite says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:31am

Very relaxing watching my wall of cannons mow down creeps. Good work!

SneManden says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:19am

Very nice game, quite fun! Love the idea of the human that has to open the crates - however, you could expand further on that mechanic: e.g. make him set up the guns too?

However, I had a minor problem: the zombies are not grid-aligned, meaning, sometimes they fall inbetween you lines of your shooters; thus making it hard to place your guns or impossible to shoot at them.

The graphics were nice, great work!

Btw, a small note about controls/where to put guns, etc. would be nice.

ryan0788 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:55pm

@frogcheese I'll take a look at that today, I think it might be because of the font loader? Does anyone know if Mac supports .ttf files?

Myyyvothrr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Nice game, like the conecpt! Would have preferred a visible grid though...

DY says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Take me a while to figure it out (Click on turret -> Why the hell he put that turret ther?! -> WTF that turret dont attack! -> OHH!!! I CAN REPOSITION IT OMFG!!!) but finally http://imgur.com/OMhtaAK

lucidlarva says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Very fun. I love seeing strategy games with this theme.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:05am

Loved this game, it was great!! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation video series, if youd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/7EzKbFuvC2A

thesunnyk says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:09pm

The game is very similar to plants vs zombies, with the caveat that there's a new wave every 10 seconds. Quite a fun game, but rather unforgiving to a beginner. Difficulty curve needs some fine tuning, but other than that I'm having trouble finding fault. I like the presentation, I like the game design, I generally just like it :)

bushmango says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Fun game! Crashes if you buy up all of the available worker unpacking slots with flowers, lol.

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:26pm

This is a nice take on PvZ, something I haven't seen before here. Very enoyable. Imo there is one frustrating flaw, which is that it's so hard to see in which spot you have to place a gun in order to hit a zombie. But that should be quite easy to fix :-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]