August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chronobender

by XmmmX - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you have to escape an exploding building by using a timebending-device called a 'Chronobender'. This device allows its user to almost stop time from his point of view. Unfortunately you ended up with a prototype which is not perfect yet.

The whole story can be found ingame by clicking on the 'Help' button or looking at the fifth screenshot.

Controls:
WASD/Arrows - Movement
Space - Toggle Chronobender
Holding Shift - Decreased Jumpheight
V - Toggle VSync

Programs used:
Coding: Java using Eclipse with the Lightweight Java Game Library (LWJGL)
Graphics: Paint.NET
Sounds: Sfxr, SunVox


Yay, my third Ludum Dare entry. This time even without using XNA. (^.^)
It was really difficult for me to write a 2.5D-engine in under 48 hours since I have never programmed one before.
The source code looks really messed up since I panicked during the development and feared I would run out of time.

If you find any bugs or maybe have questions concerning the game or the coding feel free to ask anytime.

(The flickering creatures are not bugged, they are just fast.)

Thank you for playing my game :)


EDIT:
Added a fixed version which starts the game in a smaller window (800x600) if the desktop resolution is smaller than 1440x900.

EDIT2:
Added the x64 natives to the fixed version. If you have problems running the game then try to download the fixed version and start it by using the "start.bat" file.
Again, thanks everybody for your feedback. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#209Graphics3.54
#318Overall3.31
#392Theme3.33
#408Audio2.79
#432Mood2.88
#451Fun3.05
#453Humor2.42
#549Innovation2.97

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:50am

Wow great work ! I love the gameplay, the controls are responding very well. The slowing time is a nice idea to give player more time to do the level !

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:03am

Archive seems to be broken for me? Maybe reupload it. I downloaded it 3 times ^^". (Tried with 7-Zip)

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09am

Nice concept :D. Like the gameplay style and the graphics.

XmmmX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10am

@Zelosfan
Reuploaded it. Strange because nobody else had this problem so far. But thanks for mentioning it.

Choupom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12am

Nice gameplay! I enjoyed this one.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34am

Great entry! The idea of stretching time more and more by collecting upgrades is quite funny. Also the graphical style is very cool and the controls are fluid. Great job for a 48h game. :)

hungyg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35am

Let me remind you that players hate text... Nice game tho! Interesting visuals, solid gameplay.

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39am

Awesome game! Controls are responsive and work, and gameplay is really fun!

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39am

Nice job building in a story line.

Supernours says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40am

Nice game !

HoWseR says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:20am

Hey I saw you commented on our games being similar and I had to check it out ofc :P i like the way you tied the 10 second thing into the story, made it alot cooler, and i also liked the song/ambient sounds you got in there, i wanted to do that but ran out of time :/

Good job anyway :)

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26am

Overall: one of the best concepts with helluva hard levels. Congatulations, nice job! Actually, being a 3D game added at least +0.5 star.


Innovation: 10 seconds, but not from your own point of view & you have to keep it taking slower. Great!

Fun: ARGH so hard! Entertaining because of the concept anyway.
Theme: well, either way, you have 10 seconds to go on. ;)

Graphics: some dumb graphics...hm...silly menu...arial font...hm...'kay...WHAT?! YOU HAVE PROGRAMMED A 3D ENGINE IN 48 HOURS?! Also, love the using of 2D sprites in the 3D area.

Audio: nothing special, but also nothing bad.

Humor: Player sprite made me laugh.

Mood: not atmospheric, but as usual, it's not the kind of game that should be.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46pm

The engine turned out nice. I had a good bit of fun with this entry!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

This doesn't look right on my 1366x768 screen :C

Half of the game is always off screen for me and i can't seem to be able to do anything about it... http://postimg.org/image/7nhrmh1xt/

Sorry, i couldn't play your game normally, so i wont rate it.

XmmmX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10pm

First of all I would like to thank you all for your feedback.

@epicSpeedTurtle
I am terribly sorry. I was in such a hurry that I didn't think of this problem during the development. A fixed version will be uploaded soon.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Neat platformer. I think the timebending mechanic could be better if you could control who fast the time flows instead of just switching it on or off - I had almost always switched it on until the moving enemies came in.

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Wow, that was the most fun I had so far!!! You really set the mood with the sound design :) I liked the slow-mo effect, and it got challenging with the moving squares that hurt me :( Really nice work! And the help tutorial was nicely done, love it when they are "mixed" in to the story that way.

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Fun game! :)

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:18am

Quite enjoyable, but I kept the chrono-thingie all along because I saw no point of unactivating it ? And I'm not sure to distinguish the differences between power-ups. Still, fun entry !

XmmmX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:44am

@EggDestroyer
Yes, you are supposed to keep it on as long as possible. The only reason to unactivate is to continue the movement of the enemies if they are blocking the way and to save energy if you don't need it right now.

There are three kinds of power-ups:
Potions - They just increase your score
Documents - They upgrade your Chronobender
Batteries - They recharge your Chronobender

Beerman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Great visuals and the timebending idea's pretty cool. The platforming feels a bit floaty though, makes it really hard to judge the jumps.

Rothens says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:06am

I think you included the 32-bit version of lwjgl :) I could fix that, but I think you could upload an x64 version for the others ^^

Rothens says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

Eerm.. I've put the x64 binaries in the folder, the game still doesn't start :( If I ran it from cmd, I don't get an UnsatisfiedLinkError, like when I tried that with the x86 binaries, I only got a "Java Binary SE stopped working" screen. :(

XmmmX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:24am

@Rothens
Strange, because I can run the x86 version on my 64-bit OS.
It should only cause problems the other way around.
Sorry for asking the obvous but do you have the latest x86 version of Java installed or only the 64-bit version?
Since I have got both of them (don't ask me why :P ) maybe thats the reason why I can run it.
But I am going to make a 64bit version because this way it's easier for you.

XmmmX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

Oh, I just found something out.
Add the x64 files and the x86 files of the LWJGL natives into the main folder and try starting it with a .bat file which contains:
java -jar Chronobender.jar

It should work this way.

Rothens says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:12pm

I only have the x64 version of the JRE, a year ago I had both of them, when I developed in Windows (since then I changed to Arch Linux, and reinstalled Win) I tried copying both of the natives, and it didn't worked. I also ran it from command line. For double click, it does nothing, from the cmd I get the Java crash. Maybe I'll try it on Arch :P (or install the x86 version :D) Anyway, I'll do anything, I like the screenshots, and I want to try this out ;)
I'll report if I'm succeeded.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:42am

Nice entry, the music is a bit strange, but I enjoyed the game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:25am

i just could not figure out what to do -- like the graphics and style of the game -- nice effort

zkenshin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Enjoyable entry. :)

entrusC says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice entry and good job using only lwjgl! Only the time bending concept was not completely clear to me - I figured it adds the time up each floor you reach?!

And just a hint: you should (if possible) wrap up your game using an exe wrapper like jSmooth - makes it a lot easier and removes the need for the ugly dos box ;)

galman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Nice game! You did a great job with making that engine :) I felt that something was "missing" in the game, beside that it is really nice :)

XmmmX says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:55pm

@entrusC
Thanks for your feedback. :)

While the Chronobender is active (background is blue), the flow of time is slowed down so you have more time to reach the next floor.

I used a similar program called jarSplice in the past but I can't remember why I stopped using it. I'll take a look at jSmooth. Also you can start the game without the dos box by just running the .jar file. I just added the .bat file because some people had problems starting the game and this seemed to solve it. But thanks anyway for your hint. :)

Mandraw says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:15am

good game tough sometimes a little tough ^^

DissidentDan says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:06am

Relatively fun. There's really no reason to not slow down time, except when you don't want to wait for obstacles to move, so it doesn't seem like a fully-realized mechanic. I actually don't like the character physics. I prefer for the character to have some momentum.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]