August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend Of The Quadriplane

by Gama - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal is to finish the game in 10 seconds or less using glitches.
Think outside the box and try things you wouldn't normally do.

W,A,S,D to move
Space to attack once you have the sword

Made with flashpunk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#105Innovation3.74
#125Graphics3.79
#150Mood3.39
#178Humor3.09
#257Audio3.07
#306Overall3.32
#418Fun3.09
#1016Theme2.55

Comments

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43am

I think it's safe to say this was originally made with the anticipation that glitches would be the theme? While I haven't found the way to beat the game in ten seconds, I liked the game boy layout and the glitches you can do. :)

Gama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43pm

The idea was to make a game speedrunable in 10 seconds but I didn't find any interesting way to do it without using glitches so, yeah, it ended to be more suitable for the "glitches" theme :(
Thanks for your test !

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I'm not sure I get the thing about the glitches, without which the relation to the theme is entirely lost.

I do love the Game Boy aesthetic. It might have worked even better with double-size pixels; the original Game Boy was only 160x144.

The sounds are a bit of a mismatch with that, unfortunately. And does the voice at the end say "thank you" or "f*ck you"? I'll assume it's the former :)

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I love the graphics! It really felt like an old gameboy game. xD

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Great graphics and design.

Parappa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Excellent! Love the use of the power switch as a mechanic. Short but sweet. Fantastic use of the theme. One of the my favourites of the jam.

goyal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:59am

Perfect. Awesome graphics. O man, those good old days.

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:22am

I really love the concept of the Power Button mechanic, although I still found it pretty tough :)

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Great take on the theme while tying in the glitch aspect! Extremely well crafted too. Nice work!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:05pm

game boylayout was cool. I beat the game normally, cause i'm lame.

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Very complete game. Really liked it. LOVE the graphics and ther power switch mechanism made me think of Pokemon Silver/ Gold, good old times ^^

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Seems well enough made, but it's not really the game I would like to play for a longer time, which I would have to do to understand how it works. Still looks very polished for a 48 hours effort! However, the music get's on your nerves pretty quickly. :(

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Loved the idea of the game with the intro at the start, with lots more creative glitches this game would be pretty amazing, although I still liked it anyways :P

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:48am

really interesting concept and idea. the graphics were real cool. nice work.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

This idea is brilliant. Amazing work with the "Do not turn off"-idea, this gets 5 stars in innovation :D

pereubu says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:29am

<3

Gama says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Thanks everyone ! This is my first LD entry and your comments really makes me happy \o/

For those of you who can't finish the game, here is the name of the three glitches you must use :
- Save Glitch
- Door Bounce
- Sword Bounce

/SPOILER\ And here is the solution : http://i.imgur.com/BIcw99J.gif /SPOILER\


If you wan't another challenge, here is one :
You must finish the game (in any time) without defeating the boss and without using the Sword Bounce.
(Yeah, this need the "Invincibility glitch"... )

Mago says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Amazing game. great concept, super graphics and musics. One of best ideas I saw so far in this LD.

Cryunreal says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:13am

nice idea!)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:15am

Felt like playing the classic Gameboy, LOL at that sound effect once you turned on the gama boy. good job on this game.

JokerDen says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:17am

I can finish it only in 13 seconds. Awesome style!

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Neat game.. but I can't make out what he's exactly saying in the beginning, haha.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I really like this game idea. You really did a great job imitating the GameBoy visuals and glitches. I finally have the solution sorted out and can beat the game in 8 seconds. The glitched out victory screen is awesome.

emveyh says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Great idea :D I really like the gameboy look. It doesn't fit the the theme too well, though

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]