August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minecraft Creeper Revolt

by CrossBread - Jam Entry

Our beloved creator of Minecraft, Notch, was experimenting for an upcoming patch and created a recipe to craft a smart phone! Little did he know this would drastically alter the world as we know it. The phone provided a direct portal for Facebook to enter. The villagers were amused at first, but astonished at first night fall. All creepers who come anywhere near Facebook are completely spellbound and mesmerized by it! Following in the steps of many before who have discovered great power, the sought quickly to find a way to exploit it. Since this time, you will no longer see these jolly green walking time-bombs grazing the endless algorithmically generated hills. The Creepers have been lead below the surface, into the coal mines, being guided carefully into place-- then detonated. A Creepercaust is underway fueled by, greed, hatred, and only possibly justified of their ever-present "HisssSSss" in the Villager's nightmares. The Creepers appear to be utterly helpless against this tyranny.


All but one, of course. A bit of an outcast, and not very social, a young Creeper named Howard seems to have a natural immunity to Facebook's allure. It's up to him to shake his brethren out of a daze and band together to fight this new menace. Will you be able guide him to destroy this harbinger of doom?


Controls:
Up/Left/Right Arrows - Move
Hold X - Hiss
Release X - Explode
Z - Fall back into Facebook trance
Esc - Restart

Not sure if I'll be able to make the finishing touches before the deadline (traveling all weekend) so I'm submitting this now. Let me know what you think! (I apologize in advance for the thrown together web page. Make sure to maximize your window if the game covers the instructions or form.)

Coded just by me, but my girlfriend contributed greatly to the concept and story. I was aiming for the comp, but had a few bugs left so opted for the jam.

Despite its nitro-jelly filled noggin, an alert Creeper has lightening fast ability to perceive his surroundings and set a course of action. As a result, time only noticeably passes as the Creeper carries out his planned movements.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#230Humor(Jam)2.68
#280Innovation(Jam)3.00
#446Fun(Jam)2.52
#461Theme(Jam)2.70
#475Audio(Jam)1.88
#516Mood(Jam)2.15
#517Overall(Jam)2.56
#542Graphics(Jam)2.30
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Very neat use of the theme!

flod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

I like the usage of a well known modern thing as the creeper as main character. I even liked the "I touch you - I control you thing"

CrossBread says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29am

Thanks! The touch to control was inspired by the connections theme. The 10-sec theme reminded me of XCOM gameplay, so we tried to combine the two with a little gaming pop-culture. I love blending games as well, so I was interested to see how a Minecraft themed sidescroller might fare.

Elrobo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:34am

I enjoyed this. The walking noise got a little grating, but I liked the game concept of controlling others. Reminds me of messiah. I really liked the face animation on the tranced creepers.

CrossBread says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:56am

Thanks for the feedback! Yeah, I noticed that the "foot steps" sound effect was a little more attention grabbing than intended. I've turned it down, but not in time for the submission. :-( It might be better to just remove altogether.

That was my first attempt at pixel art/animation so, I'm glad you liked it!

gmaker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:27am

fun idea =) explosion cool as well )

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:52am

interesting!

<3 the creepers!

nixeldev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:57am

This was infuriating... but in an ace way :) took me 5 attempts to blow up the phone :p

CrossBread says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:33am

I''m glad it gave you a good challenge! I ran out of time to add a more gratifying ending. :-/ This was also my first attempt at level design, but it all surprisingly worked well with minimal changes. I wanted to add a score based on how many creepers were left alive when you reach the phone.

galman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Nice game! And a really interesting idea! Mind controlled creepers.. That sounds so cool...

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Nice use of theme! Walking sound was a little irritating, but I like the concept. Story made no sense XD but that adds a bit of humour in my opinion :)

klianc09 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Incredibly difficult, had to restart very often. Being able to make that "HISSSssss" sound was a nice touch :D
I blew up the phone, but nothing happened... maybe I was supposed to touch it with my hero instead of blowing it up with another creeper?
The footstep noise really got on my nerves, you could just play it, when the creeper is actually touching the ground, to lighten it up.

CrossBread says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:43am

@klianc09 Yes, sadly I could not finish the ending in time for the deadline. The fact that the awakened creepers can blow up the phone was an oversight. What I intend for them to do is lose their will to fight on once they get too close leaving only the hero to save the day. His last words will be "Better to die for freedom than live in ssSSSssslavery!"

I'm also adding the ability for speech bubbles to pop up for characters to add a little more flavor to the game.

local minimum says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:12am

For one with a very troubled relation to fb this was quite satisfying. The mechanic was also a quite new take on the 10 seconds theme I think I haven't seen so far. Some suitable music to it would of course helped set the mood even further.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Interesting gameplay

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]