August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tactical Mission

by HunLyxxod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my entry.

That was hard but I finished in time, with an epic failure with the audio.

You play a team of elite soldiers and you need to carefully plan your mission to kill all the enemies in 10 seconds. Good Luck!

Controls:
WASD: Move
Mouse: Shoot

You can click on the timeline to rewind and go forward.
The others shortcuts are explained in game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#45Innovation3.94
#64Theme3.87
#109Overall3.64
#282Fun3.28
#566Mood2.71
#676Graphics2.70
#710Audio2.24
#902Humor1.62

Comments

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Fun game, unique concept. Very well put together.

Taiters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Really interesting idea, though I found it quite hard to do the teamwork parts (like level 3).

h8urf8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Cool game. Like the drawings of the movement of your members.

Get's pretty complex in "First Mission" and "Last mission".

HunLyxxod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13pm

@Taiters: Yes, being synchronized is hard but you can do a section as many times as you want.
If you fail your timing, press space to deselect you unit, go one second before the action (click on the timer bar or press play until you are at the correct time) and reselect the unit to quickly retry.

Just in case: you are not supposed to kill the two guards at the same time in the level 3.

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53pm

The core mechanic here is interesting and unique, but also confusing and frustrating. A little more work, and you could have something really revolutionary here.

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05pm

This is very smart. There's a few games where you use multiple play throughs, but this is the best executed.

4xisblack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21am

I should point out that knowing you can click the timeline to skip back and forth is pretty critical to making the interface usable. You may want to leave a note in the instructions up there, as it was not obvious to me at first.

Once you get a hold of how to manipulate the timeline this thing becomes remarkable. It is, perhaps, the smartest implementation of tactical puzzling I have ever seen.

The ability to instantly and partially reconfigure any one of your characters' behaviours resolves many of the frustrations inherent in squad tactics games (losing after a long fight, making a superficial error and dying/having to reload, etc...). It also permits much finer balancing of tactical situations because as a designer you can think about individual moments rather attempting to balance an entire encounter so that there are enough (but not too many) solutions.

Just off the top of my head I can think of several AAA games that would have benefited from this variant on the rewind mechanic: Baldur's Gate (also Dragon Age, etc...); Rainbow Six; Commandos. Essentially any game where the point is to emphasize tactics and configuration puzzles above reflexes and risk/tension. You could also very easily turn this into an actually-good version of the insipid 'hacking' minigames we see all over the place. You could do all kinds of stuff with this.

drilltail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42am

This game is awesome. You should take this further; the idea has a lot of good potential. It'd be really nice to see more unit and enemy types.

I think that the difficulty takes quite a leap between levels 2 and 3.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice game mechanic. Good job.

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Couldn't beat level 2, but if it was easier and had a tutorial I can easily see the greatness this game could have, it's very well made and I love the "repeating" movements, that was very impressively done. You can expect a great rating from me ;D

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I love the VCR functionality in the game. What a cool concept. Good use of theme and awesome gameplay!

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:15pm

It took me a while to figure out that you don't need to start all over again if you mess up the timing once :P But WOW, this game makes you feel so badass when it all comes off perfectly, and you just see all of the spies moving together picking off enemies one by one! Really enjoyed it!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:08am

I like the idea and the mechanic after I understood how it worked.

Endurion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:45am

Now that's a grand idea!

Just noticed that with space you can also end the run cycle (and don't have to wait til the 10 secs are up).

This could be a really nifty game!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Nice use of theme to create a single player team coordination game

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Wow. I am speechless. This is amazing. Fantastic game with awesome gameplay mechanics. I love it.

Zelen3d says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:25pm

This is such a great and challenging game. There are only a lot of small things that make it less fun. The fact that there is no sound for enemy guns, that it's not clear when you die, there is no level menu. Other than that, the game
has a great concept, and I also liked those arrows.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Nice game! Had alot of fun with it :)

Zelen3d says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Sorry. I didn't see the select level menu there. The actual mission levels are pretty hard.

Just Tom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Introduces concepts brilliantly, but the difficulty spike feel immense. None the less, I loved the mechanics behind this very clever game. It's innovative, unique and fun.

The sound effects could use more subtly but they get the job done and work as feedback. The improvement I'd like to see post dare are more levels bringing a gentler curve, understandably difficult to in 2 days with such a complex concept but valiantly attempted none the less with two excellent tutorial levels.

Genuinely brilliant idea and excellent execution, I'd love to see more of this.

antonijn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Ehm, didn't really understand this one o.O Since you were explaining it as I went along it kind of made sense a bit more, but at heart I really didn't get it very well. I think I would have enjoyed it a lot if I got it though ;)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:59pm

good job

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Nice idea, I really like the path line in the replay mode :)

SmudgedCat says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:52pm

This is brilliant. Very tricky to get the hang of but once I did I spent quite a while working out the levels. I still haven't quite managed to do final mission but I intend to return to this and try again. Outstanding game!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:27am

Coolest concept I've seen!

Cryovat says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:47pm

I'm really, really impressed with the mechanics here, and the presentation is gorgeous (I really love the arrows). Two of the levels are a bit daunting compared to the rest, but all in all, you did an amazing job on this. I can't believe you pulled out a rewind mechanic this polished in just 48 hours.

All it needs now is more levels and some ambient military music. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]