August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bloodlust: Damsel Destruction

by villhest - Jam Entry

"Bloodlust: Damsel Destruction" is a game about eating virgins.

How to play:
Mouse + WASD
Press and hold "E" to eat virgins

You get 10 seconds back for each virgin you eat, so in theory you could go on for ever.

A tiny game - I (villhest) spent most of the weekend learning animation, modelling etc.

Created by hjellek(code), swishi(virgin SFX) and villhest(other stuff).

Created with:
Unity trial (with a few standard assets)
Blender
Git
Photoshop CS6
Virgins
My guitar
GarageBand (with a few standard sounds)
"Bloody" font from fontsquirrel
..and I think that's it..

Drop a comment if you need a player other than web.

EDIT: Added a fix for an issue where low res screens didn't see the whole GUI (incl. the "new game / exit to title" thingy), and made the game a lot easier.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#128Audio(Jam)3.34
#155Humor(Jam)2.94
#209Mood(Jam)3.14
#266Graphics(Jam)3.36
#363Theme(Jam)2.93
#406Innovation(Jam)2.68
#466Fun(Jam)2.46
#484Overall(Jam)2.67

Comments

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19pm

This game is great

Pretty funny concept and nice implementation. My main problem is that 10 seconds just isn't enough to do much. Maybe getting seconds back for eating virgins would help.
The graphics where very nice, great job on that. I also really liked the music and sound effects.

Nice effort!

Atridas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Too short... but that was the point. How can you reset the game?

villhest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Jools64: Thank you for your kind words! You actually do get 10 seconds for each virgin, you just have to hold her until she disappears (about 2-3 seconds).
Atridas: Thanks for playing! You can go on forever if you eat enough virgins. Reset the game by pressing "x" in he top right corner.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57pm

BEST TO EAT VIRGINS BEFORE THEY EAT YOU. PRE-EMPTIVE STRIKE/10

Spiderhund says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02pm

This is definatly one of the more.. Uhh.. Interesting games I've seen :P

I think there is too much of a delay before you get back into the game when you lose.

Other than that it's a fun game!

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03pm

I love the idea. Great animation and music. Unfortunately, I couldn't catch a single virgin, and couldn't figure out how to reset the game with out hitting the reload button on the browser. Keep up the good work!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Haha, you can't really do much in the 10 seconds, but it looks really nice, the way you've done it! It actually has plenty of potential, and is very good for 72 hours!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40pm

I love everything which have something to do with blood! :P Just kidding - I just love the idea and the atmosphere is great.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42pm

I'm really bad at this game but it's hilarious, and the mood set by the graphics is great!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42pm

This is a success! Girls and blood! Where could be cooler?

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47pm

I was quietly reviewing some LD games then I started this one...
I saw naked women running in the wood and the first thing I said was 'WTF is this??' :D Since they 'fall' from the sky, I thought they were hanged at first.

This game is crazy but these women run far to fast for me! I barely catched one!
Good job.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:48pm

And I forgot about the music! Great job on the music that fits perfectly to the game.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:05pm

this is great! although i cant think of any other game were you chase and eat women pretty sick ahah

bitslap_ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:50am

Impressive but difficult. I snagged 1 lady, would prefer a shorter snagdown so i couldv'e snagged more ladies. Good job!

arcticleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:09am

great , i like it :D

evilDan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:53am

Hahahah! Nice! Couldn't actually earn back any time and the lack of a 'try again' or 'back' button is almost unforgivable --> But still Loved it overall. Good stuff.

acro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:16am

A great idea that fits well with the theme - I wish I'd thought of it! Good overall atmosphere, theme, title screen, music, etc - it feels like a proper horror game. The difficulty of catching one in time is just far too tough, though and it's hard to tell when gameplay actually begins. Mouse-turning seems far too fast, and the webplayer is bigger than my monitor for some reason so it has scrollbars and doesn't capture mouse properly. I've not seen this with other Unity entries, so perhaps it's something that can be set in the ide.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:28pm

The first game I've played in which it rains naked virgins! I could hardly catch them within the time limit though. Nice B-movie sound effects and style.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:33pm

that's not how I prefer to eat my virgins, if you know what I mean.
contols seemed off, ladies take a ton of damage and there's no corpses. and cheerleaders would taste nicer.

fgielow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Nice Graphics and sound. Like the inovation whit the theme, but i really think the control, at least for me, was very sensitive and i couldnt play so well. But well made =)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I can't run it on my machine.

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:15pm

The game window was too big to fit on any of my web browsers. I tried to play 10 times and I couldn't get to eat any. Other than that, great graphics and soundeffects.

hypp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:57am

Excellent graphics!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:49am

uuuuuhhhhh I think I enjoyed this more than I should. good game and concept, I guess? lol

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]