August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Regular Dungeon

by Syawra - Jam Entry

Hello everyone ! Tonight, we go to an adventure /o/

Regular Dungeon is a narrative game where you find yourself stuck in a small dungeon. You have ten seconds to look around and pick up to 5 items. Then a monster appears, and you must use your items to fight.

The problem is... These are regular items. Sword, Axe, Deodorant, Cookie, Sunglasses, and so on.

The items will interact with each other, so that even your toilet plunger becomes effective against a powerful monster !

This game was made by a group of three : Hugues Barlet, Bertrand Ciesielski, and me (Simon Albou). Have fun !

[Controls : WASD/ZQSD, and mouse]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Humor(Jam)3.74
#153Fun(Jam)3.28
#163Theme(Jam)3.39
#261Graphics(Jam)3.39
#263Overall(Jam)3.17
#280Innovation(Jam)3.00
#364Mood(Jam)2.69
#398Audio(Jam)2.47
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

graebor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:10am

Cool idea, I got a laugh out of the text for a couple of the items :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Very stylish in terms of art... the music sets a grim atmosphere that doesn't fit the light-hearted tone of the game, I felt...

I also think the game could have been made more difficult, it was very easy to complete.

Good luck!

timothyolt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:04pm

I really want to play this, but I run Linux. If you at least provided a Windows unity binary I could run it.

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:17pm

This was funny and fun! Is it possible to beat the skeleton?

Syawra says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

Thank you all ! It's funny because as everyone gets different outcomes, some people think the game can't be beaten, and some people think it can't be lost. Actually it's near 50/50 : it's made to be replayed again and again to get new combinations.

I'm sorry I didn't give a standalone build but I'd need to fix some problems with the screen resolution. Maybe developing the game in 2D with Flash would have been easier and led to a more consistent atmosphere (and more content) as you said... I'll try to work on it later !

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:33am

I couldn't get this game to work at all. I tried it in both Opera and Chrome, and the applet would load correctly, but clicking on the "play" button did nothing at all.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

Good take on the theme, I like the stress moment where you have to try and test the right object, had a good laugh on some items :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:02am

Nice 3D and top marks for humor!

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:03am

Oh man - just spectacular! thank you for a good laugh.

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:31am

Haha, the combos were indeed interesting and quirky! It felt weird to have such a grim setting and a hilarious context, though. But I guess that's part of your plan, haha! Great game! :D

Uguii says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:50am

Thank you for your comments! it's a pleasure to see that! :D
Hugues Barlet

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

That was fun !

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:59pm

LOL. I look badass with sunglasses... it's try!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:02pm

good job, nice work :)

GFM says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:09pm

This was actually pretty funny. Nice game. :)

Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Adventure! Yep liked this, the random selection of items were funny and went a long way I think. 5 stars

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]