August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten-Second Taxi

by schnerble - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the taxi driver in a town full of incredibly impatient people. Everyone wants to get to their destination in under ten seconds, and will jump out of your taxi if you take too long!

Controls should be self-explanatory - just drive.

I ran out of time to do lots of things I wanted to do... but that's always the way!

This game was my first real attempt at using Emscripten to generate JavaScript (including WebGL) from C++. It mostly worked pretty well, but I guess C++ isn't the quickest thing to prototype in. Debugging OpenGL errors without a wi-fi Internet connection is pretty tricky too. With about four hours to go I still only had a car driving around an empty field... :) Luckily uploading via my (untethered) mobile phone worked OK! (Edit: fixed the Dropbox link. Whoops! It nearly worked OK)

Thanks as always to GreaseMonkey for Autotracker and DrPetter for SFXR.

Update: I've added a post-compo version with better steering, plus a couple of new features such as autoreverse. You can find both versions from the same link. (Apologies for the hurried basic intro page!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#272Humor2.79
#613Audio2.44
#620Theme3.11
#789Mood2.44
#804Innovation2.64
#922Graphics2.25
#944Fun2.43
#1011Overall2.54
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

Danex317 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56am

Really hard to control the car. A way to back up would have been really helpful too. But there is always room for another crazy taxi.

schnerble says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:56am

Yeah - I really wanted to put in autoreverse... but I still had no game with about four hours to go :) If I get a chance to do a post-compo version, I reckon autoreverse will be one of the first things to put in.
I'm interested: what else would you change about the car controls? Faster turning? I may tune things a bit...

Anachron says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:19am

It's comically fun because of the steering, but the car has the equivalent of a several hundred foot turning radius. Maybe a way to earn money and buy upgrades to make the steering tighter/faster?

schnerble says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:03am

Thanks for the feedback, both. I've added a post-comp version with better steering and a couple of new features (e.g. autoreverse) to give an idea of where I would've been after a couple more hours, and it feels much better, even though it's still pretty unpolished ;)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:19am

The control of the car make the game really hard!

Tater_hater says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:47pm

I love it, just wish the controls were a little less difficult

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Interesting game and nice use of the theme. I think a mini-map would be really helpful.

schnerble says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Agreed - I wanted to put a minimap in, but was way short of time :|

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:35pm

The controls were kinda awkward to me, had a hard time not hitting walls :( a minimap would have been good

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I kept on getting stuck in buildings and the edges of the map. Glad to see you've done that in a post compo build. Music is suitable and the comments by the people are funny. If you had looping edges to the map that would increase the pace and make it even more mad!

Per says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Crazy taxy III!
It was fun when I missed to deliver those poor travellers, great humor score :)
It would be great to be able to reverse the taxi ;)
Great work.

jwolf says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Not bad! Thank you for putting up a post-compo version, by the way. It addresses most of the complaints that I have with the compo version.

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:41am

High Innovation, Fun and Humor Score.
Nice job ;)

Afal says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:38am

The post-compo version is a lot better than the compo version. Great little Crazy Taxi clone

Xaychru04 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:52am

Great game, that's the first one I see which uses emscripten. It's really hard to control the car when it hits a wall, but it's still fun. :)

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:51am

I drove through a house and a couple of walls at some point. Whoops.
But this was frantic and fun. Nice job!

schnerble says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:12am

Yeah... I think I need to work on my collision code for next time! Thanks for the feedback though :)

Sep 9, 2013 @ 5:43pm

What a shame the car couldn't reverse in the sumbitted version! I'm gonna be generous and rate the post comp version. lol It was realy good fun. I don't know if I liked the arrow though. I like the idea of having to learn the town or maybe a map screen would be good.

smash ball says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:49pm

I think everything but the steering was done right in this game. I think a nice addition would be to add text specific to what the person was doing when you drove them in time, and not just out of time. (other text aside from "Woohoo!")

schnerble says ...
Sep 18, 2013 @ 4:32am

Thanks for the feedback. Yep, I'd meant to put in some better text than "woohoo" but was absolutely down to the wire there and out of time. The steering was definitely the biggest problem; I essentially just didn't play-test it enough as I'd left everything too late!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]