August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

T-X

by MarekkPie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Clear the level within 10 seconds! Do not get hit by the enemies!

Fight enemies based on Craig Reynolds' Steering Behaviors for Autonomous Characters (http://www.red3d.com/cwr/steer/).

Move: WASD or Arrow Keys
Shoot: Left-click

Enemy types:

Green - Bouncer: randomly bounces around the screen.
Orange - Seeker: chases your character.
Red - Fleer: avoids your character.
Pink - Pursuer: intercepts your character's projected position.
Teal - Evader: avoids your character's projected position.

Built with LOVE.

Windows: Should work out of the box. HOWEVER, I made this on a Linux machine so I have no way to test. Please comment if there is an issue.

Others: LOVE (www.love2d.org) is required in order to play the .love file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#971Theme2.63
#989Innovation2.31
#992Graphics2.13
#1063Fun2.18
#1100Overall2.35
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

headchant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

nice game, but a bit confusing at first, maybe it should be slower?

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51am

I'm not sure if I'm am beating the levels or not. The green things keep spawning, and I can't seem to get them all.

I do like the physics and the button lib you used!

Nice job though! Shows a lot of promise!

leafo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39am

nice shooter, would be nice if a winning and losing looked different. Also it should be more difficult, I found even the last level too easy

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14am

@headchant: I was still coding pretty late into Sunday, so I didn't have much time to play test the levels. I figured I worked on the different enemy types for a while, so as long as I at least show them all off that's fine by me. Guess that's the programmer in me rather than the designer.

@josefnpat: Physics library is bump by kikito; just a simple AABB library. The steering AI was hand spun, but its not hard to find some simple pseudo code for the algorithms.

Button library is Quickie by vrld. To me, it's the easiest and fastest of the UI libraries out there for LOVE.

@leafo: Pretty much the same answer I gave for headchant.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Awesome start! I really think you could flesh out this game more and have something pretty cool.

Audio and some sort of score board would have added a lot I think.

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:11am

Either I missed something or there isn't much to this, but it seems like the start of something great. With some audio and more levels this could be pretty interesting.

acro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Frantic gameplay but could use some work on the feedback. I wasn't sure if I'd won a stage or not. Would be nice to hear some sound effects and have some sort of scoring system. Good work on the different types of enemies.

alts says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:34am

Similar to the other critiques, it felt weird to not distinguish between winning and losing. Also strange was that it seemed like I never permanently won. If I tried shooting instead of clicking on a button time would start passing again and more enemies would spawn.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]