August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SimDare

by Michcioperz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a point'n'click game I consider The Sims meets Ludum Dare. It's a Ludum Dare Compo simulation game, which means it's a game about making game for Ludum Dare. Player controls a game developer who is taking part in the compo. You have to take care of gamedev's physical and psychical needs, food, hydration, sleep, conscience and overburn.

Boring facts about it:
Programing language - Lua
Game engine - LOVE
Text editor - Kate

Feel free to ask questions and give me feedback, I am available on Twitter most part of the day. Thanks for reading and playing, good luck with your games :)

BEFORE YOU SAY IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THEME:
You're totally right. I couldn't get 10 seconds into the real part of the game. But the problem has an interesting origin.
I overslept during this Ludum. When the theme was revealed, it was 3 a.m. in my timezone. Before, I set a countdown on an alarm clock I have on my desk. It took me about 5 seconds to do it. But later, when I was checking how much time's left before the reveal, I accidentally turned it off. It happened in, say, 5 seconds. Later I noticed the problem and reactivated it, but was too sleepy (it was 1 a.m.) to update the time.
I ended up waking up at 4:30. I overslept one and half an hour, because of 10 seconds. I could've set up a normal alarm clock on my phone, it would take 10 seconds too, but I didn't. Because of choosing wrong 10 seconds, I ended up having less time than others. And that's what the game was meant to be about. Later it turned out it takes too much time to explain it, so I've given up, simply continued making the simulator and added those 10 seconds to main menu for the game to have ANY association with it. Thanks for reading.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Humor3.23
#474Audio2.70
#566Mood2.71
#633Innovation2.85
#993Fun2.34
#1042Overall2.48
#1097Graphics1.90
#1156Coolness48%
#1164Theme1.85

Comments

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48am

Wow, it turned out great! I see you implemented my suggestions nicely. The pacing is a bit off from the real world; you can win really early and you need to sleep way too often. But hey, maybe one of us should try taking frequent naps like that! Great sound effects, great (foreground) graphics. Nice job!

Suggestion for post-compo: Make Food and Hydration one bar. There's no need for both. And make a better room image. =P

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:01am

I wish I could alternate between sleep and programming that quickly.

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:36pm

You did really well! The audio is especially good, particularly the creative sound effects :)
My only question: how does this relate to 10 seconds? I guess you have a timer and that, but the link between the theme and game seems kind of weak.

Anyway, great job!!!

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Hey, I didn't use the restroom for over 48 hours as well!

But seriously, nice job!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I should probably note, I gave it a one on theme. But yeah.

Michcioperz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10pm

@Puzzlem00n I had to quickly make something after I found my story of waking up 2 hours too late because of 10 seconds was too complicated and boring and ununderstandable.
The way I used 10 seconds in game is that the game shuts down after you spend 10 seconds in title menu.

rpmoura says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:38am

It's not bad, but I think it's really missing a screen to stop the game when you die. You can keep doing stuff and you already lost the game. :|

Michcioperz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

@rpmoura You can only change what you do, but it will have no effect.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Really smart idea, and a good implementation. Good job!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

I slept way more than in real life :D

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:27pm

5 for Humor, instantly. Of course, I was destined to end with like 75% finished game and almost dying without sleep. Should have a Jam continue mode!

alts says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:02am

I like this LD meta-game idea. It's just a shame that it doesn't really incorporate the theme into the primary mechanics of the game.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:39am

I'm in the same time zone than you, solution:"orange juice!"
Is it possible to finish?
Or is this some sorte of moral: "You will not be able to sleep on ludum dare, MUHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!"

Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Nice idea (same timezone btw, I know how you feel!), but the execution could have had a tad more polish. I did not realised I was dead until a minute or so had passed :D But good idea though, always funny to come across such meta-games.

Bernhard says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:27pm

As far as I'm concerned, the only thing missing is the toilet. Or maybe that's whats outside :-)

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:51pm

How to rate when theme isn't applicable?

Tegu says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:53pm

I just can't finish this. :( Pretty hard, but funny idea. The only connection to 10 seconds was the timer in the beginning though. :P

Nehmulos says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:51pm

When I die from starvation I can keep coding eternally and no time will pass, that's pretty cool.

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I can't seem to win, but I liked the idea. I at least managed to survive once haha.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]