August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stator Chronicle

by Sergey Mohov - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Stator Chronicle is a ridiculously honest video game about wizardry and the sensation of being lost. A linear storytelling/procedural gameplay crossover experiment, it combines skill-based gameplay with encouragement through curiosity of the player.

The world is procedurally generated. There are no pre-designed level sequences, so no repetitiveness, everything is done with maths. Think Minecraft, not Spelunky.

************************************************************************************************************************

IMPORTANT: THE FARTHER YOU GET INTO THE FOREST, THE MORE ROTORS YOU WILL FIND

Controls: move with arrow keys or WASD/ZQSD, perform actions with other keys (as specified per action).

************************************************************************************************************************

Soundtrack is available here: https://soundcloud.com/sergey-mohov/neon-swink

YouTube gameplay video (sorry about the quality, some text may be unreadable): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E2Bj0gmDMIs

Hi, I'm @krides.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#63Mood3.68
#110Audio3.43
#136Graphics3.75
#239Overall3.41
#265Innovation3.39
#479Theme3.26
#503Humor2.30
#766Fun2.68

Comments

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02am

Awesome little game, well done sir.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:24am

Oozing with style. Music fitted the game well and the overall mood was just mesmerizing.

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29am

Interesting concept. The music and visuals created a good atmosphere but the gameplay felt a little lacking. I really like how the screen changes color to indicate the players status.

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06am

Not my game, It took about 2-3 minutes before I found my first rotor and by that time I was pretty much in frostbite already..

Grafter says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08am

cool world!

Xatulu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11am

Awesome little game, thou it took me quite some while to find the rotor, love the tint you give it for frostbite

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12am

This is the best interpretation of the theme yet! The graphics and music are amazing too :)

Nizan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16am

Nice and moody, though wasn't sure on my overall objective (or how much longer I had to go...). What would have helped in the beginning was having a rotor right outside the house so you knew what you were looking for/doing. I found one eventually, but when I got to the point I have to collect 4 - I got a bit bored. Also not sure what it was being 'painfully honest' about? :/

leedo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34am

It's really a nice game.
wind feel a bit buggy sometimes, but it work great.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36am

Why, it is painfully honest about wizardry of course.

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24am

Nice art style

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

Nice atmosphere, feedbacks, mood. Got bored after 2-3mn tho.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:15pm

This is a fantastic game! I love the dynamic generation of the landscape, and the purpose to collect the rotors. I'd go so far as to say, I love the rotors. Will they marry me?

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:03pm

They will! They will! :3

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Very stylish! The story seemed interesting and I wanted to follow it but the rotors are just too far apart. and it got boring searching for them.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:04pm

I love procedural worlds, an awesome way of making level desing.

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22pm

I love the style and visuals.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Great game, awesome atmosphere. Love the idea to split exploration and story telling.

smotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Awesome! I loved exploring the generated world. And I loved the humor. The only problem is that the camera gets a bit annoying from time to time, but apart from that it's a fun game!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Very stylish! The graphics, the music, the color change...all this gives the game a really great atmosphere. Exploring the game can get a bit boring after a while, but I played for 15 minutes and really enjoyed it.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:23am

Feel so alone playing this game. Mood is perfectly synthesized.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:13am

Nice game I love it !

Badger says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:31am

really fun!! great job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32am

Mine gosh! That awesome invoation in graphics, the mood is also 5/5!

LittleThor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:34am

Interesting idea and very good athmosphere. Just need a little more things to do, or a more "active" environment.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:36am

This is lovely. Nice artstyle, and the opening-gag is great :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:46am

Nice work :) Good mood.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50am

Thanks for the comments, everyone, I appreciate it a lot!

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:14am

Glad you finally got back in! :) I like it, although I don't have time to play more right now, but I will continue later so I can find out about that story ^^

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:49am

After i get to the sixth part of the story i was a bit bored to continue.. i think you could change the parts to find accordingly to the story... like Rotors, and other stuff. good job on the graphics, and congratulation for the number of gameobject :)

Oxydam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28pm

My favorite entry so far. Great ambiance and a cool gameplay mechanic.

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:38pm

What a neat idea for a game, wow!

Szedouu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Well done, I enjoyed your game. Its clean and nice.

deepnight says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Very interesting experiment, I especially liked the mood and the visuals. However, the random part makes the actual level design really boring most of the time. The frostbite system is strange but leads to some interesting situations (small bug: if you walk against a rotor, timer won't decrease, allowing unlimited immobility).

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Great entry, nice concept and atmosphere.

The camera view can be a bit frustrating sometimes (we would like to have a bigger depth of field), but overall I really enjoyed the game.

Khopa says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Great ambiance, loved the colors, the shadows and the soundtrack. Very good entry !

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Like art style and game idea!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:28am

Great sense of atmosphere, it looks and sounds amazing. Just a really polished piece of work all over. This is great stuff.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:40am

Not bad.
Like minimalistic design =)

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:52am

Minimalism and Ten seconds, two themes for the price of one.
Nice execution.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:36am

@CoffeeOnimal Well, I did miss Ludum Dare 26, got to make up for it somehow, right? :-)

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:29am

Very nice, really liked the graphics and the mood they created.

Danex317 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:03am

Great Job. Only problem I had was that the music was a bit too loud. it was hard to hear the rotors until you were right on top of them.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Great visuals and music, and I liked exploring the randomly generated world. Didn't get too far into the story, collecting rotors got a bit repetitive after a while tbh.

If I had to give you any suggestions, I think that I would have made each story element only cost 1 rotor, but make the player find their way back to the house themselves. That way you get a better sense of being lost and helpless the further out into the forest you go. Just my two cents :)

Yakka says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:57am

The price to get more of the story is too high >.< but I liked the mood :)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Awesome game. Loved the art, the grey with the accent colours. (I'm biased towards that ;)) The intro camera is great to, as is the little camera zoom when going though a tight spot between the gaps.

Cool!

Jesse Freeman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Love the art style, really great look and feel to the game!

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Very nicely done, I enjoyed the concept and look of the game. catchy tune too!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:32am

Beautiful work! Loved the music as well!

panurge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:33am

Gorgeous visuals and music. One of the most atmospheric games I've played so far by a long way. I also like the storytelling mechanic although I have to say that by the time I was looking for four rotors I needed a little more to keep me going - maybe some new gameplay elements as I got further into the 'forest.'

darkshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:12pm

The map is very pretty and the game very stylish, procedural generation certainly helped with that. Despite that the uniform generation away from the open area around the house didn't really incentivise me to explore more, though I guess it does add to the sensation of feeling lost when everything looks the same but isn't quite the same. Game-play was a bit lacking, and having to pay more and more for each line was a bit off-putting.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Aesthetically amazing - not sure why you were calling it "honest" - but that line certainly had me sticking around to try and figure out why. I failed, but was oddly happy to lost in the desolate landscape.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Great one! Babuska story telling system is cool!

Infernal says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:32am

Great job! Really enjoyed it until I had to go find 8, 9, 10 rotors. granted the farther you get, the rotor density shoots up but it becomes quite frustrating to have to venture way far out again to grab the TON of em you are going to need for the next few story bits.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Thank you for playing and commenting, everyone. Your feedback is really important to me! As a matter of fact, I'm gathering it all in a spreadsheet—this is how serious I am about your feedback :-)

Xgor says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:11pm

It has a nice look and atmosphere to it, but a bit too eventless for me to truly enjoy it.

(Also if you truly want to give a sensation of getting lost, you should remove the home button)

Sense says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:23am

I collected only one rotor, maybe you should review your procedurally item generation. By the way, Nice graphics, audio, & I felt very lost, you made my day.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:48am

@Sense Rotors are definitely generated correctly, as confirmed by other people who left comments and myself. My bigger concern at the moment is the difficulty curve, however, and the overall level of motivation potentially inspired by the story. I'm working on those.

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:08pm

I tried to play it on my Mac (Mountain Lion) and it crashed before it opened. I can't play the web version because of a ridiculous bug that only affects Mac users with Japanese input.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:56pm

@Crowbeak I'm terribly sorry to hear this. I'll see what I can do! Thank you for letting me know.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:34pm

The procedurally generated world is really cool. I like the whole look and feel of the game too.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:33pm

very memory heavy on my browser, but I love this game. The having to keep moving part was a good idea it kept me playing and I learned a bit about work and payoff by your system. good job. also love how much content is in it even though its probably procedural.

bassarisse says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:45am

Loved the mood. Reminded me of Wall-e.

mortus says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:15am

I didn't manage to finish the game and read the whole story, but I think it's a story about Rotors enslaving People and I just break free of their slavery!

Cool concept and great mood though, I wish it were shorter so I could read the ending.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]