August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Firefly

by dj_pale - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Barely made a compo entry for LD27 - 10 seconds! Did not have the full weekend off, so the game is pretty short :P Used Unity for the first time.

[Space] to fly | [Left] & [Right] to steer

Tools:
* Engine/Code: Unity 3D
* Gfx: Inkscape, Paint.NET, Spacescape
* Sfx: Garage Band, Audacity
* Vcs: git

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#111Mood3.48
#268Graphics3.39
#343Audio2.92
#440Theme3.29
#622Innovation2.87
#647Overall2.97
#737Fun2.70

Comments

dj_pale says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:31am

I have no idea why the wings are "bugged" on the mate except for the last level. It works in Unity :/

dj_pale says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:49am

Looks like there are at least one more entry called 'Firefly' :)

ericdpitts says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31am

Wow, great job! Great graphics, nice sounds, and that title screen is so sweet. I loved the lighting effect on the player character in the dark level.

Malor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47am

just a pretty game.

kidder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49am

Cool! Our games have the same name :) Check mine out: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=21304

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:42am

This game is buggy (that's a good thing), and I wish there were more bugs. I like the little firefly. I do wish the firefly would face left when I fly left.

kristof says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I like it! Nice graphics and sound. The wasps were pretty hard to avoid.

Antidote says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Pretty neat. Love the idea and mood.

Gonzo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Nice art style and cool idea. I like the theme.

BipoleMoment says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Overall, I thought it was a good game. I think my main problem was how the controls were occasionally buggy and didn't do what I wanted. But it was a good design!

Also, I made you fanart: http://oi43.tinypic.com/wrz3sx.jpg

Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:50am

Very nice!
I found the camera a little slow, but that adds well to the atmosphere.

Zccc says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Great entry, it's a pretty game :)

Wertle says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:45am

I was a little confused about which parts had collision and which I could fly through, but I like the atmosphere a lot :)

Mesene says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Was funny and pretty but too short :D

Spelchan says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Liked how the lighting was used on the second level.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:26pm

This is a pretty nice game! Good sounds, nice concept. I do not like the unreliability of collision with the leaves, some you collide with, some you don't. Nice work. 5/10.

jwolf says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:34am

Pretty neat! It feels like there could be a bit more feedback when you collide with a hornet, but that's a minor quibble. I liked the lighting effects you used.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:00am

Not too bad for being short on time.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Cool idea

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]