August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stoppage Time

by noddy2006 - Jam Entry

Stoppage Time is a football (soccer) strategy game. (Note: Java 7 is required to play this game.)

Your club Youngtown FC are tied with league-leaders Central Park United in the last game of the season. There are only seconds remaining - can you help Youngtown score and win the league?

To score a goal, you must plan a single move, which will hopefully result in the ball hitting the back of the net. There are 4 commands available:

Move -- move the player to a position
Pass -- pass the ball to a position
Shoot -- shoot the ball to a position
Wait -- wait for 1 or more seconds

To add a command to the list, click on your player with the left mouse button, click the instruction you want to execute, and click the position on the pitch (or in the case of Wait, enter the number of seconds to wait for). Subsequent instructions can be added for the same player by clicking on the pitch while the instruction mode is active (e.g. click Move, then click multiple places on the pitch to plot a movement path).

To finish adding instructions, click the right mouse button (or click the right side of the screen). You must do this before you can select a different player!

To clear the instructions for a player, select the player and click the Clear command.

When you are ready to play your move, click the Play button. If you successfully scored, clicking will take you back to the main menu, where you can choose another scenario to play. If you failed, clicking will allow you to try again and adjust your instructions.

You can also press the R key at any time to retry the scenario. The Escape key also quits the game.


Now, go and help Youngtown win the league!

--

Fancy creating your own scenarios? All the scenario files are in ASCII format - all you need to do is copy the syntax from the existing .scn files (which should be fairly easy to understand)!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#135Innovation(Jam)3.36
#255Fun(Jam)3.00
#290Theme(Jam)3.07
#325Overall(Jam)3.04
#387Humor(Jam)2.00
#450Mood(Jam)2.45
#487Audio(Jam)1.69
#556Graphics(Jam)2.19

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:59am

Nice game, quite hard but fun to play.

DuduSAr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:34pm

As a soccer fan, I really like the game idea.
It lacks instructions and more options to control and edit the players actions, so it end being hard. But I like the challenge.
Notice some imprecise detection on the goal. I scored 1 goal but the game says the ball was off.

noddy2006 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:13pm

@DuduSAr: thanks for the feedback. I regretted after I submitted not having a "delete last action" button, and also a button to clear all players' instructions - I think the current method of clearing all of a single player's instructions is a bit frustrating. And yeah, the collision detection is pretty dodgy - I went for features over polish for this game!

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:19am

Very cool use of the theme. It was kinda hard, but not frustrating. I think you gave good options to play around. This could be fun on mobile ;)

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:29am

Gets really frustrating really fast (especially if you don't remember to right click for another player...) but the concept here is especially fun! You should really do a post-compo! Shame the difficulty apparently threw so many people from playing it :(

reheated says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:43am

A really smart idea and well executed. The players were much more intelligent than I was expecting.

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:58am

Took me a while to get used to playing the game. It's like trying to animate the players/ball blindly around the field. Managed to beat all the scenarios but I did have to restart the game a few times because of a random error I can't reproduce (should've added logs)

Vaalen says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:06am

I'm a football fan and this game is really great !
In the box is to easy. Corner is ok. The two others are the most difficult. Great game again. :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Don't know why but I like everytime I find a sports game entry!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:11am

This was insanely fun, once you get the hang of it you can create really cool strategies. But the controls are not so well executed, There need to much easier ways to manipulate the commands you give to players rather than "append another one" and "clear them all".
Now I wish there were more scenarios, but since you made it that easily extensible, I'm going to try to create some on my own.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Great use of the theme. I enjoyed it even if I don't like soccer. it remind me an indie game I played once...with similar mechanics

noddy2006 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! All of it is very much appreciated. Definitely considering a post-comp version now!

@klianc09: I'm glad you noticed how straightforward it is to create your own scenarios - thanks for reminding me to put that in the description too :P.

Linusson says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:01pm

I really liked the idea, but it was a bit too hard for me. :)

I think this could be a really fun game with some more tweaking (the controls for example) as the basic idea is a fun one. :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:08am

Great game! Some scenarios can get a bit hard, but it's fun to try new ways to make goals anyway. Very creative use of the theme.

Sebby says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:42am

This was really fun! I do not understand sports in the least, but I managed to get what to do eventually :D You managed to get a lot of stuff into this game, very cool!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]