August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Apocalypse

by SuperPokeunicorn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello, I am SuperPokeunicorn, and this is my first ever Ludum Dare, and my first ever video game.

Use W,A,S,D to move.
get up to 300 seconds to win.

Remember, this is my first game, so it's not going to be perfect, but, for my first game, I am pretty proud of it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#652Humor2.07
#773Theme2.92
#1051Graphics2.00
#1053Mood1.77
#1104Fun2.04
#1150Innovation1.88
#1158Overall2.08
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58am

The seconds were off, it was almost like 1 second = 2 seconds, poor collision detection, but decent idea.

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06am

Hey, I really liked the idea you came up with here! I think there's a lot of potential to expand this idea (maybe waves of monsters that come after you, weapons for the player, etc) Overall I think it's a great entry! Good job!

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

Collisions were a little off, but as far as a first game goes it's pretty good.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

No sound for me? no wall sliding on collision? :(

If you had added 1 or 2 more things I think it would have been improved a lot, such as a way to shoot the zombie monster things? even if more respawned?
I liked the character and zombie graphics a lot though

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10am

Not bad for your first game! The enemy pathing is especially nice. After collecting a few time crystals though, I could see where it was going, and lost a lot of my interest. I still finished, but it wouldn't hurt to increase the speed over time, or add more enemies (starting with fewer) to maintain interest.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12am

Controls seemed a bit sticky but for a first attempt it's definitely good. Keep it up!

Reevezy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25am

Pretty fun! Well done.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32am

Awesome job for your first LD and first game ever! I like the graphics of the player and the monsters. Interesting backstory. The gameplay is a bit slow, perhaps if you added some sort of weapon or powerups that could help, but nicely done for 48 hours!

d__adee says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Hmmm.... I just don't feel the controls though, sorry. It feels like a chore. I know it's part of the game to not make it to the crystals fast. But yeah, you should've added some obstacles or walls instead.

But it's a nice idea though.

d(^______O

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Found the game to be very unfinished but a good concept but sadly I was unable to record it with fraps for my video compilation of LD27 games... sorry

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:25am

Not bad! The objective could be easier to obtain, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]