August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Contaminated

by uwap - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You control the player using WASD. A and D for moving, W for jump and S for stamp. You can also use the arrow keys. You have 10 seconds a room to escape from a contaminated laboratory.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#677Theme3.04
#849Audio1.84
#978Fun2.36
#992Graphics2.13
#1042Overall2.48
#1089Innovation2.09
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

pbdiode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Well, the character seemed to be stuck behind the wall to the left of the screen, and no amount of using WSAD keys seemed to un-stick it from that position. Also, when the timer ran out, nothing really seemed to happen.

Hopefully these things are just bugs and can be fixed! It'd be great to give your game a real go!

Miltage says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I didn't have any of the problems pbdiode mentioned. I managed to get quite far but the level with the moving blocks is near impossible.

The gameplay is good, but the graphics and sound fall short I'm afraid. You might also want to refine your controls a bit, with platformers you generally want to have more control over your character, so you'd do without the acceleration and such.

wbobeirne says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Fun game with solid mechanics, but the level with the moving blocks is a goddamn menace.

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Pretty solid ideas for platforming, but the "floaty" controls with the character made it very difficult to navigate some of the puzzles.

I liked the "stamp" movement a lot, that was very satisfying to float above the button and stamp down quickly and get to that exit with a few microseconds left.

I think if the character moved a bit faster and naturally it would be much more solid.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:28pm

i do feel like a hero, but the sensitive jumpings keeps sending me into lasers.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Solid controls. There were some collision issues. Otherwise a nice entry :)

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Good entry, i found some collision bugs but no game breaking. The movement maybe was a bit "floaty"

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:56pm

It just felt like the player need more velocity because it's just sailing around way too smoothly. And the game just jumps straight into the game without a title sequence or anything which just kinda surprised me because it made me panic "Huh whut already what do I do?"

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:08pm

The sliding platforms in the last level are really hard to get past with the low friction of the controls, but apart from that, nice game!

kristof says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Nice little platformer. The jumping feels a bit strange though.

Turkey2349 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:08am

pretty cool although the fall sound gets annoying after a while

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]