August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ascension Switch

by Nehmulos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a 2 Player game.

Goal:
One player starts with a knight that has to reach the top of the tower and collect the gold.
The other player starts as Dungeon master who can summon and posses enemies (for gold) to hinder the knight.

After 10 seconds they both swap roles and now the other player has to ascend as a knight.
The player who reaches the top first wins the game.

Controls:
The game is controled entierly via keyboard.
You may have to disconnect your gamepad, if it causes problems I didn't implement it 100% so don't use it.
Player 2 uses the NUM-pad.
If you don't have a numpad you can edit the hotkeys in the lua files in the game directory.
Player1:
Move: wasd
Action (summon): e
Attack / previousCard: CTRL-left
nextCard: space

Player2:
Move: numpad
Action (summon) NUM_9
Attack / previousCard: NUM_0
nextCard: NUM_+

Content:
Sadly I had no time for more than 1 stage and couldn't add a tutorial.
So the game starts very hectic.

As a dungeon master you first summon 1 skeleton knight (on your cursor) then swap to the possess card and and attack your oppenent to force him to respawn.

Spawning Enemies is very picky with the position and there is a delay after you press summon (even if it fails), so make sure your cursor is on a free spot when you press it.

Also there is no sound, because I didn't add any.

I started this with the base-code from an old game (texture_cache, engine and so on),
so there might be some old unused files in the repo that were not created by me.
I don't want to remove them now because I'm too afraid of breaking it in the last minute before submit.
Source & git are included.

Running:
Linux use the linux-run.sh or launch with SDL2 and lua5.2 installed
Windows: run ascension-switch.exe (can take 5-10 seconds to start)
Mac: maybe coming soon, too.

I didn't test it on another pc, so I might screwed up exporting the libs (Sorry!).

Language: C
Libs: SDL2, SDL2_net, SDL2_image, SDL2_ttf, SDL2_mixer lua5.2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#126Innovation3.67
#342Theme3.38
#369Graphics3.21
#494Humor2.32
#508Mood2.79
#529Overall3.08
#572Fun2.91
#594Audio2.47
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:46am

Linux 64bit only is really limiting how many people can test your game. You might want to port to windows or mac so more people can rate it

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:25pm

"Hectic" as you already said.
But so far so good.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

Hey man, seems like a good game. But a lot of people (including myself) do not have lua. So you need to compile with static lua. lua52.dll is missing. Please compile and put it back up.

Nehmulos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:02am

I fixed the lua bug on Windows & tested it on a different maschine now. Lua was included in the zip, but it was called lua5.2.dll and not lua52.dll, sorry about that.

For some reason it can take 5-10 seconds until the window shows up when running it on Windows, so please be patient when you start it.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:16pm

nice game ...good art .. I like well done

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:03pm

It was tricky to work out what was going on, seems like a nice concept though. Everything kept moving to the left by default, so the cursor and knight would keep moving left even when no keys were pressed. Good work on getting something done and submitted.

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I really like the graphics and the idea! However I was playing this myself so it was kinda hard because my brain can't control two things together. I thought after summoning the monsters they would automatically find and attack the user and it turns out I need to control it..wish it is done automatically

alexandervrs says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:09pm

It was like a tabletop RPG, nice idea.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:29pm

This is a very interesting and fun concept! The movements could have been made smoother though, especially the jumps. Had a lot of fun playing this with my brother, this definitely has to be expanded more!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:56am

Can I get a Mac version?

Badger says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Cool game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]