August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Army of Botz

by imef - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: I AM NOT SURE WHAT THE PROBLEM IS WITH THE WEB VERSION. I TRIED A FIRST TIME AND GOT DROPBOX 404 ERROR, AND THEN LATER IT WORKED...



Army of Botz is a puzzle game in which you control one or more droids to perform specific tasks. However, you don't control them directly. You must "program" them before the level and then see the result. The "programming" isn't real coding but rather selecting functions from a list.

If I get enough feedback, I will keep on working on this game and possibly greenlight it on Steam.

The downloadable version of the game has better graphics than the web version so I greatly recommend that you download the game.

The game was made using Game Maker : Studio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#295Innovation3.34
#660Overall2.96
#795Fun2.65
#885Mood2.28
#902Humor1.62
#922Graphics2.25
#959Theme2.65
#992Audio1.16

Comments

skyr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Very interesting game.

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Your Web (HTML5) link appears to not be working for me I get Dropboxes Error 404 message :(

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:23pm

404 error for me too

sorceress says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:26pm

404

HauntedSoul says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28pm

yep web version is messed up

Skye says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Overall, this game was pretty fun, looked nice, and has a really neat idea. I enjoyed programming the bots to do all sorts of whacky things.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Interesting idea that requires a lot of forward planning. The HTML5 version worked fine for me!

deeJayUA says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Amazing idea, well done!
Fix the HTML5 link for people like me who dont like downloads!

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Very nice idea here. Could have done with the editor and level fitting on one screen. Also a few more interesting actions for the bots. Overall impressive stuff though.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

It's pretty good. It's not that challenging for anyone that knows programming (And considering LD48... That would be everybody) but it would be a great introduction for those that don't know anything about it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Hah, definitely a game for programmers!

SneManden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Very fine idea. Great job with all the levels.

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Good "programming" game. Would be nice if could see map while writing the code. Also should let clicking on the level success message return you to the level selection screen as hitting the back button to return to the level menu is not intuitive.

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Reminds me of the Logo language I saw someone in school with (way back when) that had a "turtle" robot you commanded about. Nice game.

senseidav says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Very good concept of game.

It´s like to program it by ourselves jeje

Good game.

The link of windows game is quite difficult to download..

Finally I tried html5 version.

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Cool game!

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:47pm

You're right, we had similar ideas, but execution is very different :) For example, you made way more content than I did! Very nice!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Very cool concept. Must have been interesting to program. As a game though its not that fun in my opinion. Still, good work!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:14am

I like the programming concept. Good job !

evilDan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:29am

I really really like this - but after having success on level one, nothing happened. Is there only the one level?

I want MOAR!

evilDan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:31am

Nevermind - I got back to the level select screen and back in business

evilDan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:46am

Good stuff! Love the idea and much of the execution - but there are some things on the interface that could be improved: Adding 'Add' to the top of the list of commands (instead of insert) is more intuitive for that action. Also, since the player needs to keep toggling back and forth from the program screen --> It would be helpful to have the "Program Droids" button on the top right near the "View Level" and "Start" buttons. Also, it would be good to have a continue button when you win a level - the back button makes it feel like there isn't more to be done.

It's a really cool game and I hope you polish it until it shines!

mboaj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Nice idea. Incredible that you could put a small programming language in a such a small game. You should extend it for teaching purposes :D

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

I often accidently clicked the Back button and lost all of my progress :( It would be great if there were a dialog as to prevent accidental miss clicks.

raver says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:34pm

So, you are targeting programmers? Nice idea!

darkshadow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Hah great fun did all 15 levels. None of the levels was too taxingly difficult. Had a few minor glitches like robots going through one another the extra types of robots made things a bit more interesting. Reminds me of the board game Robo-rally minus the crazy multiplayer with people shoving each other into pits and lasers!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Interesting and innovate entry! Nice job :)

alexandervrs says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Ha, this was pretty clever :)

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Reminds me of basic programming as a child!

ComicSans says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Really nice programming game! Two suggestions: (1) don't wait for the timer to finish before determining if the level is a success. (2) double-clicking a program instruction should "Add" it.

UntitledQ says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Definitely reminds me of RoboRally as well!

The interface is a bit rough around the edges, but the game itself is quite fun and free of bugs (as opposed to my entry, which is indeed a very similar concept, as you commented in my thread).

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:37am

good job

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:24am

Cool little thing. :D

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:26am

Man I love programming/puzzle games!. The theme is a bit weak on this game though... the shortest (and most likely intended) solution in every level is always rather obvious, so the timer lacks relevance for the most of it.

I enjoyed the game a lot though. Some seriously good level design here!

motty says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:12am

Cute game and a fine effort. Programming games are always fun.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:44am

Good old Programming games :D

01rafael says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:15am

I saw the similar games!
I like this kind of concept!

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:18am

This is awesome, can't believe i'm doing more programming though! Love the design :)

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Very interesting concept! I like it, good work! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]