August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Beams

by alwaysinbeta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The world needs saving. And our last remaining defenses have only 10 seconds of energy left. Use them wisely!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#495Audio2.67
#620Mood2.64
#626Innovation2.86
#631Theme3.10
#694Graphics2.66
#753Overall2.87
#788Fun2.66

Comments

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32am

Nice adaptation of the theme.
I like the particles enemies, and the melody is relaxing.
Controls are not intuitive the first time but that's ok then.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29am

Neat graphics and the beams blowing up the enemies is a great effect. Wish there was a way to recover energy though.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Fun!

Two things I would like it to have:
- Know to where the tower is aiming at
- When you switch towers, skip the inactive ones.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41pm

@xrm0 Yes I made decisions to leave those two things out to make the game harder, but I think you're right it probably just creates some frustration.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Very nice adaption of the theme :)

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Nice, a lovely use of the theme and a nice twist on Missile Command style mechanics.

boneloaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Lovely vectors and sounds, Player 2 kills would frequently not register, but we had fun playing.

thephantom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:39pm

the affects and graphics are great , goad job :)

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:58am

Neat idea of switching between multiple laser cannons. I wish they would have recharged after a period of time. I got 51 kills and 3 hits, then the enemies quit spawning.

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

hard to figure out which one i wanted to use util they ran out of laser juice then the choice became easier

Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:10am

Interesting game, specially in single player. I enjoyed it :P I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nOZnQrkIteE

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:04am

Really like the mechanics, and you've nailed the theme, but, as said above, controls aren't very intuitive which leads to a lot of frustration. All in all, pretty good though.

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

i like how you made a two player option,that was a good idea.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Nice job, its a cool spin on missile command.

Ossi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:47am

Nice twist on an old school formula. Really challenging too! Good job!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:54am

Cutting greenish blobs with beams is pretty satisfying! The sound effects were perfect and different sounds on each cannon was a very nice touch!

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Audio was really good! I wish there was more of a goal and a way to get more fuel back or something to make the game more interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]