August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rewind and Run

by JD557 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In rewind and run, each level is a 10 second animation that you can control (rewind, pause and play).

Using your mastery of time and your incredible jump skills, you must pass various obstacles to get to the end of the level.

Also, you are always running forward, so make sure you don't fall behind or you'll lose.

Keys:
Up - Jump
Left - Rewind
Down - Pause
Right - Play
Space bar - Skip Level Intro*

* Before each level, you can watch the animation to have an idea of what to expect and plan ahead.

EDIT (01/09/2013): Uploaded the source code to github. Since it's a javascript project, the source was already availible, therefore I kept postponing the source upload and eventually forgot about it.
Hope that's not against the rules.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#120Innovation3.69
#543Graphics2.91
#587Audio2.49
#593Mood2.68
#620Theme3.11
#643Overall2.98
#735Humor1.96
#842Fun2.57

Comments

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Oh wow, really cool concept, although implementation is a bit rough. And whats with the graphics? Black gradient on the left, white background popping. Also the abilty to fast forward the intro animation would be good, cause i wanna know whats gonna happen, but i dont wanna waste 10 seconds on it :)

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Hey JD557, I couldn't really get this to run. The hero just gets stuck on the screen at the beginning of the level. In Chrome I get "Uncaught ReferenceError: mozRequestAnimationFrame is not defined". I tried in Firefox and strangely it kind of worked when the web inspector was open. Hope this helps. FYI you are allowed within the compo rules to makes changes related to fixing bugs.

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Very nice game, I enjoyed playing! It was also very difficult haha! Still, very fun to play.

JD557 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:34pm

@CustomPhase: Yeah, I had some problems with the implementation since I don't know how to precache images in raphael.js (once you create the object, it's drawn right away), therefore a lot of images pop when the download finishes.
I should have added fast forward (I think it would be pretty easy to implement), haven't though of that. Well, too late now. :)

@alwaysinbeta: I think you are in the intro animation. Just press space bar or wait 10 seconds.
If that's not it, then I have no idea what the problem might be since I tested the game on chrome on both windows and linux and the error you are talking about is "normal" (it's just my dirty code checking if you are running chrome or firefox).
What version of chrome are you using?

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Oh yeah you're right. Yay I got to play now! I didn't figure out I had to press space to start, I thought it was more of a 'skip intro' thing. Sorry for the noise!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Good game. Concept is really good. Like the graphics. Really hard after the first level, maybe the difficulty could build up a little more slowly.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Very cool game, cool custom use of controls. Liked the art simple but very mysterious a bit. Narration came outta no where but I liked it. Very fun game indeed

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Nice ! I like the mood of it, the gameplay and how you used the theme !

smash ball says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:08am

There were a few glitches here and there, but the game was pretty fun. It's a really interesting concept. I like it.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Interesting take on the theme. I had a bit of hard time "getting it" at first, but it clicked eventually ;)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Interesting concept, quite difficult to play at the beginning but nice!

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:14am

Nice concept!
Pretty tricky too.

Nice work!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:51pm

A bit glitchy, but a very nice concept. Liked the color scheme, although the player could have popped a bit more from the background. Nice entry :)

Makio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Very interesting concept but quite hard to understand at the first time , the anim skip fast with space space space can cause bug minor, I get fun and reach the end was a good challenge :)

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:30pm

This was really cool, love the graphics, love the idea however sometimes the bus wouldn't completely appear randomly

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Very-very slow intro but I like this innovative mechanic, thanks for the entry!

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:38am

The color combination works pretty nice.. I felt the game in itself was a bit slow, but its cool to play

Connors says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:14am

This game is really cool and I think you ought to keep making some levels for it. Maybe spiff up the graphics. There was a bug where it displays copies of graphics and I think it appeared if you press Space at the wrong time, but I'm not sure. Other than that, it worked very well. It was hard enough to make you figure out some fun stuff you can do with the controls and I would love to see more of it!

mamoniem says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:53am

when i saw "rewind" i felt i will play "Braid" ^_^ i like the idea, more than anything else !

Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Nice and polished game! Good work!

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Cool concept. Really hard at some parts though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]