August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Flies Straight

by mrspeaker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Time flies straight, like an arrow. Unless you are experiencing fractal time. Navigate your way around the fields of mushy time, searching for an extra couple of seconds. It's hard without a compass, so go find it up in the solid world before regressing.

Best enjoyed in fullscreen mode (lil' button in the top right), after 1.5 standard drinks.

------

JavaScript/Canvas based. The code, like the game play, is born of fatigue and good intentions. I know no one reads text, but I relied heavily on text to explain things to make up for poor game design. Next time time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#4Innovation4.35
#8Theme4.33
#12Mood4.07
#23Overall4.00
#36Humor3.87
#52Audio3.63
#99Fun3.58
#141Graphics3.72

Comments

nateriver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01am

Awesome !! This is one hell of an idea for a game. Brain teasing and fun to play. Good job.

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58am

This game is great. I'm speechless, I truly am. I loved the take on the mechanic, the graphics were really fitting and the mood was just right.
Keep up the good work, this game really blew my mind.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02am

Creative, original and pretty damn trippy. Love it.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04am

I like it, It's very fun!! It took me like 10 trys to get carl T_T. Nice work ;)

Paraknight says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07am

Great idea, loved the warping and stretching in the white halls, sometimes slightly confusing but such is life, eh?

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10am

The funniest game that I've played today. BTW, that FOV changing mechanic is sickening, yet hilarious.

galman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:24am

I finished the game!:D And now I have a terrible headache :P I guess drugs feels like that.. Well done, I really enjoyed!

gre says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15am

This game was awesome!
You can't just go straight but you have to make some detour to finish the game, I love that! It's like a story inside the story. Fantastic space-time game mechanism.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26am

Wow, I am sure that game did some sort of permanent damage. I got all the way to the end, and it definitely sucked me in. Nice work on keeping it original.

Darklotus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26am

Very impressive, found the compass :)

netguy204 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28am

flipping nuts and totally great. I actually beat this game. Very creative and well executed. I loved the sense of progression with carl and the compass. The mood is very well done.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43am

I REALLY LOVE THIS GAME. Fractal time. YES.

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43am

Wow, this is whole adventure! Good game! Makes me think about life. Graphics is very good! Very fun!

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Wow wow wow wow - My brain has melted and I'm not 100% sure if I'm ever going to be able to see straight again - but what a game!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:19pm

That was a fun experience! I love the camera craziness.

small trouble says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:20pm

That was really fun, the messed up fov added to it, even with the sore head after.

deniska says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

It's not like I played the game, it's like the game played me…

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Really great game. Couldn't complete it but I had a good go.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

You have! Its not often that any do.

VERY trippy game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

OMG what is this! Wicked stuff!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57pm

What did you do to the poor space-time continuum? I needed that to keep my sanity!

Profoundly weird. And bonus points for including Carl Sagan, of course.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Oh man, this was interesting. I am not sure what just happened, but it was fun! Very trippy experience. Graphics, music were all fine and I didn't think it was hard to navigate the maze.

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Fractalicous.

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Just finished it ! Love the idea. Nice ambiance.
Deserve a bit more "cleaner" graphics.

mitkus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Very weird, very original.

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Great game!

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Cool game!

Only the fullscreen mode was bothering me. I noticed you can turn it on by clicking on the circle in the upper right corner. Escape switches back to normal. But escape is also needed for some of the text in the game to go away. :/

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:08pm

yes yes yes yes yes yes yes

(Carl would have approved, I'm sure.)

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Very awesome dude, quite an achievement. Especially for a 48 hour jam. Good job!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46am

Wow I love the changing field of view / perspective as you turn around, you really achieved that "travel through time and space" that you wanted. You greatly delivered, great job. Only thing that could have been better is music, but hey, it's still worth a 5 for me.

EggPlant <3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46am

Carl Sagan <3

Surreally fun game. The ambient music was pleasant to my unworthy ears, and the old-skool software rendering effects were great and very trippy at times. :)

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

My brain is all sorts of messed up right now.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48am

Couldnt pass the first area, tried over and over X_X

daOyster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29am

Awesome. Great take on the theme. I felt like I was tripping after I got to the thick time area. Very creative and original.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

Yes! Carl Sagan, you are my hero! I enjoyed every fraction of a second in this game! Great presentation!

rujo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:40am

very peculiar game, i liked the style.

Norgg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25am

Carl Sagankyou.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35am

Trippy. I love it ;D

Taugeshtu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19pm

All-5. Rock solid.

Niavlys says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:19pm

This work on the camera is perfect. The music and sounds were really great. I loved the concept, realization, and the overall feeling.

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43pm

This. Yes.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Awesome! Very creative concept. Trippy!

MidCry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Nice gameplay
love it

check out our game please

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Amazing use of the theme and it looks absolutely amazing too. That camera is just fantastic

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Awesome! At first I thought "lame, a game about telling me I can't reach something", but then I tried it again, and again, and then I was all "woah". :-)

rylgh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19pm

5/5, solid enjoyable trippy game. great visuals, pleasant music. not really sure what the little bouncing dudes were doing for me though.

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Are drugs as bad as everybody says? Probably. But man, what a trip!!!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:20am

The story was very interesting and funny, the FOV changing made me kind of nauseous though.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Will post video review link when ready.

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:16pm

I will endorse this game even if Mr S will not. It may be, I think, my favourite experience of the competition so far. It certainly messed with my perception of time and space more than any of the others!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Man, I love this zoom effect, and how it confuses me.:3 It's first time I see someone uses it this way, so 5/5 for innovation!)

The rest of the game is also nice, I could play only 4 minutes today, but I will definitely check this one later(already maked bookmark).

TomboFry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Good lord, this is amazing!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:21pm

unbelievable work. i adore the hell out of this!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2833574

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:10am

woahh I initially thought i would not like this much, but it really surprised me! loved the fractals travelling idea, really original, and good humor ir your fractal time traveller guy lol really novel!

syradinegames says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:55am

Very original!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

So Cool!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

Absolutely fantastic :)

Really weird how I kind of found myself recognising where I was in the fractal and could find my way out :)

SneManden says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:53am

Wow, what a game! So psychedelic! Really impressed by your approach to the theme.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:00am

A very unique concept and mind-warping visuals. It wasn't initially clear to me what I needed to do, only noticing the little door to the right of the starting area after a few attempts to beat the clock.

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:49am

My absolute favourite of the compo so far (followed by gone in ten seconds).

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:52am

This was quite surreal, gotta love that FOV effect.

Zuige says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Brilliant. Just brilliant! There were some artifacts with the sprites for some reason, but otherwise the graphics were just really cool! :) Very cool concept!

Xgor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:06pm

And people say my game is weird.... this is just messed up. In a pretty cool way!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

My head is spinning after playing this.

Loved it!

skarab says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

I enjoy weirdness! Great one!

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Awesome. This is one of the most creative uses of the theme that I've seen. Everything about this was highly entertaining.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:17pm

I wish Carl Sagan had more to say. He's always a delight to talk to.

Fun game though :)

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Amazing man, I felt like I was trippin' the whole time, with highfalutin concepts of time and stuff! Hahaha, great weird game! :D

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

One of the few entries I managed to actually completely play through :) Execellent!

Erhune says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

A very very interesting take on the theme, I commend you for that sir!

ippa says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I just die after 10 seconds. I can't seem to find anything, or reach anything (including the orb).

I need a hint! :)

Btw, I've updated the hint on my game, you couldn't figure out how to fance ;). Seems like we are really lame with solving eachothers games :P

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

My eyes are having a fit. Very creative and humourous :)

Kohijin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Very original, loved the oldschool raycast 3d and the philosophy behind it.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:47am

Profoundly weird, psychedelic, and nostalgic. Truly, one of the best games in this LD. The exploration and visuals were truly remarkable as well as the weird humour, inclusion of Carl Sagan and time manipulation narrative. Great work!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

EXCELLENT EXECUTION! YOu're on my list of best LD27 games. Probably the best thing I've seen so far. Very many kudos.

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:16am

top rating. amazing game. thanks for hitting up my vine post and mentioning your game. It's excellent.

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:07pm

One of the most favorite game I've played. Waggy, groovy style. Actually, it's the first game I really want to see its code of how to do an perspective effect like that. Nice nice!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Very interesting. Although I did not really understand what I did, it seems I have done it intuitively right before the motion sickness of the strage graphics caught me.
Very cool. The sound gives a good athmosphere.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Wow! That was odd and awesome :D

Jayjay says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:05am

Nice experience, the distortion was a strong effect

Sergey Mohov says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Okay, Carl Sagan was helpful :-) Nice little game, and I liked the fov effect in the fractal space, it really felt like time stretched. Cool entry indeed!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:05pm

What a crazy trip. I liked the old school Doom style 3D and the distortion effect. Was able to beat the game and pick up some happiness.

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I got to the end \o/ Loved the Carl Sagan appearance xD Got quite lost in the fractal time, but managed to find my way back :3

epiplon says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:51am

We think this is a bad trip at first, but everything here makes total sense. It's creative and fuck. Awesome job.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:12am

Woaaa! Trippy!!
Awesome job!

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:44pm

I couldn't get passed the first part, I'd always die before the clock runs out, haha. I assume this is a homebrew 3d rendering engine? I think some of the math is funky 0_o, but I love that you did it yourself, haha. The graphics and sound could be better, too. Good job tho I'd love to see more of your work!

local minimum says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Absolutely awesome, though it took me a couple of times to get started, this was the most fun of all 70+ games played thus far.

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I saw your comment and tried this game again. So much better this time, haha. Overall very very cool. Sorry I gave up so quickly last time >.<

Jason says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Hilarious, need I say more?

Unept says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:22am

Fun, trippy, original, pondery. Well done, Mr. Speaker. (or Mrs. Peaker)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:18am

what just happened? awesome!

Deltapigeon says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:52am

Did anyone else feel sick and kinda worried while playing this.

Ithildin says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Brilliant idea! If felt like an acid trip.

meszka says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:20pm

The time! It's like rubber!
Great visual effects :)

laserbeam says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Reminds me of "A slower speed of light" by MIT.

peachoftree says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:16am

am i the only one who beat the game without the compass

BNeutral says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:32am

This was amazing.

urth says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Psychedelic!
So this is how your brains on LD looks like.

plop says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:57am

Fun game, very creative. Graphics were really trippy, overall I loved it!

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Wow. Amazing.

Didn't think the pointed message "Carl Sagan is to the right" after dieing twice was necessary, but I understand in the context of LD.

Reminded me of old kids educational cartoons, awesome vibe. Well fucking done.

Exergy says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:08pm

That was a trip for sure! Good job!

Capro says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:23am

Absolutely great! Awesome idea and very well made. I bow to you! :)

alvivar says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:07pm

5/5 + 420 approved.

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:20am

Completely awesome. Thank you.

recursor says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:45pm

That was quite an odd experience, and like nothing I've ever played. It was quirky, and yet it somehow kept me playing longer than I though I would. Bonus points for including Carl Sagan.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:00am

Vision distortion giving headache.
But good entry.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Completed it! Did get a small headache in the process of doing so, but it might have been worth it.

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:51pm

My poor brain may never be the same again.

Suese says ...
Sep 22, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Did you paint the Carl Sagan graphic, or was it ripped off the net?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]