August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spirit of the Maze Journey

by kulhajs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Entry for my 3rd LudumDare main event. I decided to start with Windows Phone version and then port it to PC, so by now only WP version is available. I'm working on PC version as you read this.

EDIT #1: Added Windows version and updated Windows Phone version. I tested Windows version on 2PCs only so please, if the game doesn't work on you machine let me know on my email kulhajss@gmail.com.

Also time lapse day #1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zEZBe_4IP54

Windows version controls: Arrow keys to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#994Overall2.56
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25am

Wanted me to download some other things before playing. Not sure what that was about, but was not able to get it working :/

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46am

I had the same issue of Jupiter_Hadley... I don't think people is willing to install additional software to play this ):

LevelUpJordan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51am

Really pleasant looking, fun too! I really like it. Well done! If you could take a look at my game I'd really appreciate it, thanks!

Dell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07am

Unfortunately I couldn't get this working either :(

I did install dotNet 4 & 4.5 like it asked but now it just crashes on launch with a System.NullReferenceException.

kulhajs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Hi guys, thanks for comments, I was expecting some issues, hopefully I'll find some free time to fix those, unfortunately I'm quite busy during the week.

@LevelUpJordan I sure will!

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Ya, you need to download a older version .NET, I switched, fun game.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:45pm

nice graphics, controls I felt like could be slightly better.

no sound?
Slightly steep initial learning curve/obstacles

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26pm

This really minds me of that labyrinth table where you guide a marble on the table away from the holes. The physics is really questionable, especially when I hit the yellow blocks by its side.

kulhajs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:41am

@namrog84 I know that controls are bad, but like I said primary platform for me was phone where you control your direction by tilting your phone, and I wasn't really sure what would be the best way to simulate that on keyboard.

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Haha, you really like Microsoft, don't you? :D

kulhajs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

@immanuela I don't hate it.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

:D

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:37pm

interesting - this will be a popular game on mobiles :)

Diptoman says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:29pm

I could never get through with the current controls. It'd be great if you added more responsive controls. Eventhough the graphics are just shapes, it comes about quite nicely! :)

01rafael says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:11pm

doesn't work on windows 8 (((

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]