August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jackton Factory

by Pitzik4 - Jam Entry

Why choose one character when you can play 10 seconds in the life of each? The game has help included, so just click that Web link and you're good to go.

This game turned out better than I had hoped, especially considering that I won't be having my computer the third day and only had 57 hours to work with instead of the full 72. I might extend it sometime.

CLICKING ON WALL SIGNS TAKES YOU TO DIFFERENT ROOMS

How to beat the game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D41FpwkvSaY

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#29Innovation(Jam)3.82
#37Theme(Jam)3.76
#188Humor(Jam)2.82
#249Overall(Jam)3.20
#274Fun(Jam)2.98
#282Mood(Jam)2.95
#350Audio(Jam)2.62
#396Graphics(Jam)2.87

Comments

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06am

Very cool! Difficult to figure out though. I guess I didn't beat it? If that's possible. I tried a few times, everyone died.

Nice idea though, and effective graphics.

wrongcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:20am

This is quite clever. The only game with a similar mechanic that comes to mind is Day of the Tentacle, so well done on uniqueness. And well done all around.

misson20000 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21pm

It's possible to beat, I've done it

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Thanks for the positive comments! The idea of the game is really to keep trying until you figure out how the game works, and then try to perform while. In case you didn't catch on, clicking on signs will take you to the room they point to.
Yes, it is possible to beat. I put a URL to a video of the best ending in the notes.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Really nice idea for the concept!! Great work!

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:10am

Cool and interesting idea but hard to understand

xrm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25pm

I like it

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:03pm

It was hard to solve, but it was very cool nontheless!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Couldn't figure too much out, but from what I saw it was really cool. I liked the graphics style aswell, good job

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:31am

lots of fun, i love exploring games, anyone remember police quest!?

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:38am

Original and strange ideas are the best ;)

drkrunk says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:32am

Took me a min to figure out what was happening LOL. Overall really fun game. Good job.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:38am

Really nice :) I'm not sure if I did right, but at the end, the factory closed :D

Zap says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:16am

Pretty cool idea, it's interesting trying to work out everything that could happen. I didn't manage to solve it though.
The signs could be bigger - it was tricky to click them if there was a person standing in front.
Thanks for including a walkthrough :)

Pitzik4 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:23am

Just finished rating the games of all who commented on this game. Even if you didn't get a comment, I rated your game... Except for UnixXNova, whose game I unfortunately couldn't play.
I'm currently working on a complete rewrite of the game, and I'm planning on adding LOTS of new levels and content to the game, because I think that a lot of possible gameplay is what could make this game great. Thanks for playing, everyone!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:19am

Nice job -- interesting use of multiple characters...

Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:43am

Very humorous game, and innovative concept! It was interesting seeing all the different actions each character could take depending on the circumstance and who was in which room. I wish I had a better grasp of the layout of the factory, but after four or five playthroughs I was beginning to form a coherent map of the locations, actions, and timing. Great idea!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:24am

enjoyed it.. tricky to play but figured it out as well i could =)..

Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:54am

you couldnt play ours huh? thats really weird i tried a second after you posted.. =(.. worked for me.. not sure whats up with that..

Crazi456 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:11am

Very interesting use of the theme. Took me a bit to figure out. Nice work overall!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:33am

I tried several times.
Even if I was able to do some stuff, I had no clue about what I really have to do. Is there a goal ?
I liked the graphics, and the idea of playing all the characters for 10 seconds.

Sestren says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:40am

I really like the concept behind this game, but it's extremely difficult to figure out. I also like when you encounter characters you've already played and they perform the actions you gave them in front of you, that was a nice touch.

panurge says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:29am

Nice concept! Just the right amount of characters and locations too - any more and it could have become confusing. I almost managed to sort everything out but had to check the youtube video to get the best ending (didn't think to shoot). 'Fix tie' was my favourite command!

bitowl says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:45am

I'm really impressed by the concept, although it's quite confusing. I think there can be a "real" (longer, more complex, but simpler to understand) game done with.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Nice game! Good use of the theme. :)
As others already said, it is a bit difficult to find out what I was doing. In the end of the first few tries, I didn't see the end text because I already pressed a key (because it says so at the bottom), that was a bit confusing. Maybe you could have let the text 'any key skips' appear a bit later. ;) Anyhow, nice entry!

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:34am

Brilliant game, and figuring out how to save the factory felt great. The game would have been a little less frustrating if there was a way to go back to previous characters when you screw up, rather than having to wait until the game ends.

N427 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Pretty cool! The screen'd go black for a while and only give me 3 seconds to play as Jen though. :c

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Pitzik4, I love this game! My first idea for this LD was very similar: use the concept of filmmaking montage and play different situations of a same "movie", not necessarly in chronological order. I discarded it because seemed too complicated. Glad you did something like this! I can't wait for the game rewrite.

fluffypillow says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Great use of the theme! Good game.

megashroom says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Pretty cool.
It was really difficult until I realized that [Spoilers ahead] The woman with the password was in the dark rom.

megashroom says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Pretty cool.
It was really difficult until I realized that [Spoilers ahead] The woman with the password was in the dark room.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:26pm

great concept and use of the theme, and i kinda dig the music, but i would like for it to be more ways to beat it. and that thing with the black room is a little off-putting.

still though, it's a great concept and puzzle, and if you extend it or maybe make more ways to interact with the characters and possibly more endings, i'd love to play more!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]