August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hype

by johnl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was my second time doing Ludum Dare and it went fairly well. I'm fairly happy with the way my game has turned out, but its pretty lacking in some areas.

Hype is a 2d platforming game where you have to reach a goal on each level. The physics are handled using the Box2D physics engine, so I tried using that to control the motion of the character, which proved interesting. I'm going to claim that the odd controls are a feature, but I guess its just something you have to get used to.

I made the game in Java using the LibGDX platform which is really good. The way UI components are used is a bit odd until you work it out, unfortunately its not really something you just stumble upon. Other than that I can't complain too much.

I was hoping to get the game running online, either using GWT and html5 or jsut using a Java applet but unfortunately neither were possible. A recent(ish) update in Java broke the LWJGL applet code and the libGDX html5 wrappers don't include any Box2D stuff. Sucks.

To run (Windows):
- download the zip file
- extract files
- run the exe

To run (jar):
- download the .jar file
- double click on it
- if that fails, open a command prompt in the folder which contains the .jar file and run the following command

javaw -jar Hyp-runnable.jar

- if that fails make sure you have Java installed and the binaries on your path

Hope you enjoy the game!

Edit(27/08/2013): Added the Windows .exe version of the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#535Graphics2.92
#536Theme3.20
#717Fun2.73
#726Mood2.50
#800Overall2.81
#1063Innovation2.16
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41pm

when i open the jar file and hit `play` it closes :S

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Not a bad game overall, the controls are a bit awkward, especially how you sort of stick to walls. Some sound might have been nice as well. Other than that, good effort!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Crashen when you hit "Play" after opening it, works fine using the stage select though.

Interesting tile designs, the maps were a bit too easy though.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Kept get stuck under a laser which fired an almost continuous stream

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Thanks for the comments.

I made a stupid last minute change which broke the Play button, but its fixed now.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Pretty standard platformer. Controls are indeed kind of odd. I liked the platform tiles art style, and that the background changed color with the time. Nice attempt!

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

GOT HYPE

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Pretty good for the compo xD I liked most the graphics to be honest... Character movement is a bit clunky but you are already aware of that...

Good luck!

zzForrest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Nice entry, seems you don't have much experience making platformers though. Tips by me - handle x speed and y speed seperately in collision, so you can tell from what direction the player is hitting something.

cafeine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:43pm

The controls take a bit of time to get used to but once you get the handle of them it's quite a good platformer, with good level design.

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I really like the ramping of your level design. I also like the tiles you made for the collision areas.

nice game real fun to play. thanks!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Not bad at all :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Nice platformer. A bit buggy at times though.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:04pm

It's got good level design and I enjoyed it plenty, well done!

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21am

This was really great actually. I agree with other people that the level design is great!

zn01wr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Some lasers don't hurt and you often get stuck to walls... But the level design is good and the graphics are simple but effective!

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:14am

Very nice. Well thought out level design. Cool color choices. It could definitely use some polish, but its quite nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]