August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Restless

by aeveis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls are just arrow keys.
Also R to reset and ] to skip (not many levels though, may make a post compo version).

Ah, didn't have as much time to work it, so as of really just a test of mechanics and some quick levels.

Switched over to Haxeflixel, and used FlashDevelop, Gimp and OpenMPT (for that one sound...)

The game is a weird metaphor on staying awake/falling asleep.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#209Graphics3.54
#351Mood3.00
#440Theme3.29
#660Overall2.96
#683Innovation2.79
#760Audio2.14
#839Fun2.58
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24am

I like it, it quite a funny idea, but I couldn't complete the level with the fifth black spheres T_T

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Interesting idea, I really liked the graphics, they looked very iconic.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

Amusing idea. I liked the graphic and concept.

Would prefer less of a 'countdown' and slightly faster gameplay.

HippyJonYo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:55am

Neat game, that last level was tough!

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:55am

Good graphics, there's a nice mood to the game with the slowly darkening screen. Wish there was a little more to do within each level, the enemies don't seem to do very much. Still good effort!

Sebby says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

Oh, this is a super pretty game *-* I really like the idea, if only there was more of it! Sad that you didn't have too much time for the jam :(

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:13am

Cute Phoenix, with a very cool visual style; pixel art with an emphasis on diagonal lines. The dark bands did a lot to create a sense of anxiety and danger as well. I'm sorry it was so short, but I enjoyed what was there. Thanks for putting this together!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

Nice art!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:29am

I like how sharp are the graphics.
Well done on the fire effect on the bird, it's doing great.
Regarding the game, I was a bit confused about the dark spheres, even if I get touched I always could lit the bushes.

jwolf says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:30am

Neat graphical style! I'm not sure if I've seen some of those effects before.

If you're thinking of extending it post-compo, I'd suggest adding more complexity to the game, in addition to levels. (Not sure what...more mechanics or ways to interact, maybe?)

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:00am

I was not able to complete it, it got too hard for me, but I did like what I played. It wasn't exactly "fun" in the classic sense, but it was engaging. I don't know why I was burning those bushes, or what effect being in the dark had, but with some dialog/scenes in between and a few more levels I could see this as a good artsy game.

Tanser says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:44am

I really like it! :) Nice graphics, nice idea! I would have liked if there were more levels though :)

xhunterko says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:28am

Very impressed with the darkness effect here. Movement could've been just a little faster though. I also only noticed at the end that only the little whisps had to catch the trees to get them to burn, and not me having to touch them myself. Which helped me get past the last level. Nice done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]