August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dead Man

by kakuremino - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Edit: I fixed a crash (hopefully) that occured when trying to "go" somewhere at a certain place. This seems to be alright according to the rules:
"We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like "porting" to support more players)."

------

This is a text adventure with visual elements and sounds. To play, download the zip file and extract the contents to the desired location. Run game.exe.

To the people not using Windows: You might be able to run the game from source. What is needed is Ruby 1.9.2 (the game might run in previous or later versions but I'm not sure) and the Gosu gem (see http://www.libgosu.org/), which is available for Mac, Windows and Linux. Please tell me if it works (or if it doesn't).

The game was made using Ruby with Gosu and Ocra. Gimp, Paint and colored pencils were used for the graphics. Audacity and MilkyTracker for sounds and music.

Controls:
You control the game by typing commands. Enter "help" in game at any time for the following list of all available actions:
Cut, drop, eat, examine, give, go, help, inventory, listen, look, open, quit game, read, say, sleep, smell, take, taste, touch, use.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#246Mood3.18
#288Graphics3.35
#302Audio2.98
#435Overall3.17
#842Innovation2.58
#842Fun2.57
#848Humor1.75
#1016Theme2.55

Comments

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Loved text adventures back in the day. When I had a C64, it was text adventures that got me into programming. Can't say I got far, but I will keep trying =)

osthekake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Very dark and mysterious!
When I was at the part with the timer, I typed "go north" and the game ended. (crashed?)
Nice graphics and audio.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Link is broken, cant download :/

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Whop, forget that, was a problem of my ISP, sry..

kakuremino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Thanks for playing!

Osthekake, the game does indeed crash when trying to "go" somewhere at that part. I've fixed this bug (the rules seem to allow this). The links are updated and now point to the fixed version.

Larzan, the links work for me now. Hopefully it was a temporary problem.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Great idea, like the visuals, remembered me of the good old days :)
I didn;t get the theme connection though...
But well made..

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I get the "dangerous download" warning in Chrome, sorry.

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48pm

I love your textures and the game in general. If I were you, I would show the available commands all the time, so the player can't think in the command at the same time as he reads the room description and avoid typing "help".

Cheers :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Wow I love the atmosphere to this game. Very creepy and mysterious.

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I enjoy the beginning. Feel to hear the dogs.
But I got stuck to the fridge, "read note" didn't work, noticed I had to type examine/look, I think those are a bit confusing. Nice game, which I'll examine/read/look again later on :)

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

This is a wonderful game, although I did not finish it. I like the mood, the graphics and the descriptions.
I too often had to type "help" because I could not remember all of the commands.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Somehow spooky. Although I played a lot ot text adventures back in the old C=64 days I prefer modern adventures more. I will try this later again since I did not get too far. Cool graphics by the way.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Very interesting take on the theme. :)

Clurect says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17am

It was kind of cool, but I couldn't figure out the statue. The sound was spooky which was cool, but there were parts that were weird. The art was nice.

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

Beautiful art. It suited the ambient music nicely. Interesting premise for the story.

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Loved the game alot.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

That's pretty awesome, well done! :D

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Didn't figure out how to complete it, but i really liked the journey

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04pm

This is really cool, I love text adventures and this was really fun, I like it how you combined both text and imagery, works really well!

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Very nice looking game. I can't help but feel that I'm missing something, even though I dug through the source code after playing to see what I could fine and didn't find anything particularly interesting that I'd missed.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

Nice idea, nice implementation of the idea. Really like how you see the clock in the end.

Yell0w says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Very nice hand drawn images! The mix of downloaded art and hand drawn was so-so, but all in all cool! Not sure what the smooth rock and the knife was for tho ... hmm :)

kakuremino says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Thanks for all the nice comments!

Yell0w, I'm not sure what you mean by "downloaded art". No downloaded images are in the game. Almost all the images were hand drawn (by me) and then digitally processed with Gimp. The rest I drew from scratch digitally (mostly Gimp again).

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Good art <3

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Nice mood but same problem as mentioned before : I typed help, then I couldn't see the description of the room anymore, had to restart to reread.

kakuremino says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Almax27, the "look" command (or just "l" for short) will give you a description of the room.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Found this game very interesting but some what difficult. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGdyZZ8iT10

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]