August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Magnus Bacon's "The 10 Second Sell"

by MisterDerek2 - Jam Entry

After a huge oil reserve was found in the Rocky Mountains, gas prices dropped to unprecedented levels. This created a surge of spending. People want cars, and they want them now! The only problem is that the people are so busy spending their money that you only have 10 seconds to make the sell!

Instructions:
Sell as many cars as you can before striking out with 3 potential customers. When a customer sees a car they like, an exclamation mark will appear above their head. Walk over to them using the arrow keys and press space bar to talk to them. They will ask you a question with a keyword in it. To answer their question, type out the keyword. These customers have very busy lives. So you will need to answer all their questions in under 10 seconds to make the sale.

When a customer is interested in a car, a star rating will appear next to them. The more stars there are the more difficult it will be to sell them a car. GOOD LUCK!

Controls:
Arrow Keys - move
Space Bar - talk to customers
Letter Keys - spell out key words

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#55Humor(Jam)3.59
#103Fun(Jam)3.42
#132Overall(Jam)3.47
#145Innovation(Jam)3.32
#156Audio(Jam)3.24
#171Theme(Jam)3.37
#252Mood(Jam)3.03
#313Graphics(Jam)3.18

Comments

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

Really nice to play. Have seen some other fast word typing in thi sLD bu that doesn't matter. Really well executed and the sounds are pretty nice.

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48am

Fun, but the text was hard to read. I got some wrong just because I didn't know what to type.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49am

Really like this one. It's got a very silly sense of humour and a fun "typing of the dead"-style sales mechanic that really sets it apart. Looks and sounds the part too. It's a little on the tough side, but it's so much fun I didn't really mind.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49am

The character sprites could have used more variety but other wise job

blackotus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

I really enjoyed this game!
The graphics are pretty and eye-catching, and the soundtrack is sweet!
I think the typing gameplay is cool, and the dialogues are funny, too.
The only thing I wish was different is that your character looked different from the others. Maybe he could just have a different color scheme?
Anyway, very nice work! Congratulations!

BingoTingler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:41pm

The back story really helps sell the idea. Creative. Unique. All around awesome. Would love to see something like this taken to a new level(s). The music, the art work, the mechanics/design are great. I think my only complaints are similar to the others on here. With a bit more time to place in some additional character sprites and maybe a change in font/font color scheme and this would have been a 10 out of 10. For now it's just a 9.9 out of 10. Great work!

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Very funny game. Some of the combinations of words where hilarious. The idea in general was great and used the theme well. Both the graphics and the sound fitted the game well.

Good job!

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Really fun game, I love typing games!
However it sort of lacked any additional objectives or such, don't know. Some additional stuff to do would be great :)
Fun game to play a couple minutes though!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42pm

What a strange dictionary! Made me laugh.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44pm

This idea is hilarious and well presented, the character reminds me retro Final Fantasy style, It's looks extreamly like a game on GBA. Nice work~

eckcz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Didn't like the font. But liked the artwork.

Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:46pm

The dialogue is really funny. "Our mechanic loves to inspect the peacock."

autlos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Hi, I loved your game in almost every aspect.

The music, the art, the style... everything is so awesome and cute.

I want to give you useful feedback so I will suggest you a few tips:

Make the tutorial ingame, it's better to read all that text while you play than having 3 paragraphs below the game screen.

After some time playing, they never stop in front of a car.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44pm

The music is fantastic, its humorous and makes up for the sprites all looking like Hulk Hogan. The font needs to be cleaned up , some words are hard to make out. Otherwise really neat idea!

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:45pm

this is a really cool entry
you really feel like a sleeze bag car salesman who just regurgitates the word people want to hear back at them
great mood cool graphics great gameplay 5/5

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:39pm

AUGH GOD how am I supposed to type while laughing so hard? This is the funniest entry I've ever played hands down. You're a burly fellow who deserves #1 in humor

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:40pm

A little bit hard to read, but i get hookup to the game pretty quickly! Love it!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Good idea! Very funny dialogues and interesting gameplay mechanics.

Mesene says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Was nice! how many words have your dictionary?

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Veeeeeery nice effort for the website around the game :D I had fun playing it (but then again I enjoy tpying games). Well done and looking forward to your next one!

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:39pm

really liked this - neat simple idea which runs really well

excellent foundation for a more substantial game in which you could introduce different characters, cars etc.

loxo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:24pm

I really like the graphics! It reminds me of racing games like lotus esprit turbo challenge. I enjoyed the unique concept, but it's a bit hectic.

awppy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:32am

Nice FF-esque sounds and sprites. Audio was really good, but I didn't feel any incentive to keep playing after a while.

Knowing that I don't have to type spaces is nice, though. Time saver

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Solid game, I'm just not that fast typer to actually get a good score. :) Loved the music!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]