August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Electric Sport Battle

by link2x101 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the potentially-distant media-hyped future, a new game show has appeared!

Touting itself as the most deadly game show in existance, players are thrown on top of a tall skyscraper, fighting off various enemies while evading the staple of the series:

Every 10 seconds, some of the tiles below will rise and destroy everything in their path!

--

Objective: Rack up points and stay alive.

--

Controls:

WASD - Do you really have to ask?
Mouse Left - Navigate and shoot.
R - Manual reload.
1-3 and Mouse Up/Down - Switch weapon.
F4 - Fullscreen toggle.
ESC - Really?

Health is the green bar in the top right.
Ammo is the small number underneath your weapon icon.
Clip ammo is the big number under your character name.
Points are clearly marked on the right.

Ammo pickups give you two clips worth of ammo for whatever your current selected weapon is.

--

Known Bugs:
- Movement is a bit broken: It's possible to escape the arena.

--

A quick idea that I'm quite happy with.
I had a lot of problems, but it finally came together and I'm glad to have participated once again in this madness.

The character select screen is the most unfinished, for sure, but ah well, at least it works.

--

Everything you see and hear was produced from scratch in the allotted time period, no base code or otherwise.

GameMaker Studio (Graphics and Code), Ableton Live (Music and SFX) and Audacity (GM is odd about ableton's WAVs, so I ran them through Audacity as a fix.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#113Graphics3.83
#143Audio3.32
#518Overall3.09
#531Fun2.95
#626Innovation2.86
#708Mood2.53
#786Theme2.91
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Seems to be broken for me :( This is what it looks like ingame:
http://s14.directupload.net/images/130826/nqsednu8.png

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10pm

I love the graphics. Unfortunately, it was buggy from my experience. I was pushed out the arena and cannot get back in, so I float outside as if flying. I also seem to be invulnerable to everything. I can't die.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23pm

One of the best games I've played this ludumdare, those graphics are so good, a little bit buggy!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Gorgeous clean art style you have, very nice work for 48hours. Rated highly.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

Awesome game, could I humbly ask for a source on this, given that it's on compo? On what engine was it made?

link2x101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:19am

Updated with the known bug (I broke movement on day two of the LD, and only barely fixed it to save time) and source link (I totally forgot that was a requirement ._.') for GameMaker Studio Standard.

@sgeglich: I'm sorry, I honestly have not seen that happen. I'm not doing any surface work, so all I can say is check your drivers/DirectX...

@Jishenaz: Yeah, I forgot to mention the movement glitch. You should be able to die though! D: If anything, I may have forgotten to make the jellyfish deadly. Healthbar is the green bar in the top right.

@gikdew: Thanks! It was fun to make, though there were a lot of head-scratching moments!

@BradleySmith: Thank you! I tried to make the art okay, I'm just really bad with it. XD I'm a musician at heart, but I'm glad you enjoyed my lines and colors! :D

@Feysoura: Thank you very much! And of course! I added a source link. It's in GameMaker Studio Standard, coded completely from scratch with no base code whatsoever. Thank you for reminding me of the source requirement!

link2x101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:22am

Also, added some controls, UI, and gameplay clarification to the notes above.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48am

Very nice! I liked the idea and the controls were good. The art was fantastic.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55am

Really cool game, I like the nice, clean graphical style especially. Despite the few bugs you mentioned it all feels very polished and makes for an enjoyable little shooter.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:59am

Fun game! It could get more challenging, though. Also, I was able to get out-of-bounds on the bottom-right side of the tower.

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Really liked the iso graphics, good retro vibes there!

HD408 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:30am

Very nice art and surprising music at the start of the game. Somehow, the player was invulnerable (tried both characters), and there was no challenge because of this. Make the Post-Compo version, I liked where this game was going. Some level variations, upgrades shop and/or bosses would make this really cool.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:39am

Funny chaotic game. I especially liked the graphic style used in the game.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:08am

I must concur, the graphics are awesome. Good gameplay as well.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:09am

Nice game, might consider adding some way to see if you or any opponent is getting hit.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:10am

Loved the vocals in the theme song, the zap sound effect, and the art direction with the tiles. The gameplay itself was a little uninspiring; it took me minutes of actively trying to lose to finally lose. Enemies just kept shooting one another, and dropping health packs on me!

It was very aesthetically pleasing experience. Thanks for putting this together!

Laelien says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:02am

Bro, do you even gravity ?
Very fun, addictive, catchy. But I wonder if I can actually die. Or fall. I just seemed to fly in the end, and collision appear to be a little broken
Awesome entry overall anyway. Like really. Freaking great.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]