August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Balls

by irl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a person (blue ball) trapped in a maze that needs to reach the escape (yellow ball). Unfortunately, sometimes you need something to stand on and all that's available are a series of bombs (purple balls). As soon as you touch a bomb for the first time, it will active (red balls) and you'll have 10 seconds to get your use out of it and get away before it blows.

Note: Currently, there's no damage to the player from being near an exploded bomb. Time ran out before this could be developed.

Information screens can be dismissed by the space bar. For everything else, use WASD. Make your way to the yellow ball to win.

It is possible to put yourself into an unwinnable situation. Just to frustrate you futher when this happens, you will have to restart the game.

Enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#844Audio1.87
#1157Theme1.88
#1175Fun1.69
#1178Innovation1.75
#1188Overall1.88
#1192Graphics1.31
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40pm

There is no link to play? Or am I missing something.

irl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27pm

On Linux:

sudo apt-get install python27 python-pygame python-pip
sudo pip install pymunk
git clone https://github.com/irl/ten-second-balls.git
cd ten-second-balls
python main.py

I'll look into building a Windows exe just now.

bushmango says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Please provide something I can run without installing python...

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43pm

You really should not require people to download and install python, a python library, git, and your source code themselves... :/

irl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Ok, a Windows version is now available. I've only just built it and I've never built one before so if someone could tell me if it worked, that'd be great.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17pm

I got this error:

Loading chipmunk for Linux (64bit) [/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/pymunk/libchipmunk64.so]
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "main.py", line 23, in <module>
from universe import Universe
File "/media/*****/******/*****/*****/Downloads/ten-second-balls-master/universe.py", line 24, in <module>
from pymunk.pygame_util import draw_space
ImportError: cannot import name draw_space

irl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Annoyingly, it seems that the pymunk API has just changed. If you get the draw_space error, replace the two instances of "draw_space" in universe.py with "draw" instead. There's not really much I can do about it as either way it's going to be broken for people.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I went through a lot of effort just to get this to run ;) But it was cool, solid entry, good job.

Blecta says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:28pm

The way you interpret the theme is original. Unfortunately, there's only two levels and graphics are very simple.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

Nice game! It didn't want to close though, not sure why. Keep up the good work.

Xaychru04 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:35am

Great game, I liked the concept. Maybe you could have improved the graphics and make it longer. I also had some little collision bugs... But anyway, good job. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]